skip to main content

Discovery Services: Permalinks

Tips and FAQs about the best ways to find and use online library materials

Permalinks for UNR Libraries Database Materials

What are permalinks?

Permalinks are static or permanent web addresses (URLs) which point to a specific item such as an article or e-book.

Why use permalinks?

If you copy a URL from the browser it usually contains more information than the direct link to the specific item. Some databases also use URLs that change for each new search session even if you are looking up the same information. 

Will the permalinks work off campus?

Subscription database links will not work off campus without authentication from a proxy server. If the permalinks do not include the campus proxy URL, students will not be able to access the material from off campus. Some databases will add the proxy URL automatically, and some will not.

What is the library's proxy server address?  

http://unr.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

The proxy server address should be placed in front of the permalink address for library resources that require authentication. Some databases will already include the proxy server address, but some will not. Here is an example of a permalink from eBook Collection

http://unr.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1094573&site=ehost-live&scope=site 

Where do I find permalinks?

Most databases will have a permalink somewhere in the record. Each database will post them in different ways and places. See the "Locate Database Permalinks" box on this page for instructions on where to find the permalinks for some of our primary library resources (OneSearch, EBSCO, JSTOR, ProQuest, etc.).

Have questions or need help?

If you need any help updating your links, you can contact staff in the Discovery Services Department. We can help you create stable, proxied links.

Didn't find what you were looking for?