Which databases cover which subcategories of Biology?
All Areas: Web of Science, Biosis Previews, CAB Direct
Molecular, Micro, Developmental or Cellular: Biosis Previews, PubMed, Web of Science
Ecology and Conservation: CAB Direct, Biosis Previews, Ecology Abstracts, Agricola
Systematics or Taxonomy: Zoological Record, Biosis Previews
Biochemistry: SciFinder Scholar, PubMed, Biosis Previews
Deep (Historical): JSTOR, WorldCat, Dissertations & Theses
To access the collections owned by the University of Nevada, Reno, use the Library Search on the Library's home page. You can choose Books under Resource Type on the Refine My Results menu. To find specifically e-books, you can also select Available Online under Availability.
To find items not owned by the University of Nevada, Reno, also use the Library Search, but check the box labeled Add Results Beyond Your Library. Most of these titles can be borrowed through our Interlibrary Loan Service.
Need books or articles that the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries don’t own? Submit a request through Interlibrary Loan. Need a journal article or book chapter from the Knowledge Center or DeLaMare Library? Receive electronic copies through the Libraries’ Campus Express service. To place requests of either type, visit: https://illiad.library.unr.edu
Formerly CAB Direct, this resource brings together millions of research articles, books, reports, and proceedings in animal & plant sciences, human health, ecology environmental sciences, agricultural economics & rural studies, and leisure/tourism. Links to full-text provide article access if the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries subscribes to the source journal. 1900 - present.
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
This collection contains over 21,000+ journals from 1900-present and includes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index and others. Search by subject, author, or cited reference. An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool.
Index to agricultural and plant science journals, USDA documents, and state extension service publications primarily from North America. 1970 - present.
A collection of full-text journals focused on biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Formerly Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, this database provides interdisciplinary coverage of journal articles and documents in the environmental sciences from 1960- present. Includes AGRICOLA & TOXLINE. Many documents are available in full-text.
Indexes articles on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment. 1982 - present.
Index to zoological literature and taxonomy references from all aspects of animal biology, paleobiology, and zoology journals published worldwide. 1864 - Present.
A comprehensive online source of ornithological knowledge for every known bird species and updated regularly. Contains illustrations, maps, videos, sounds files, and links to additional resources. Includes systematics, taxonomy, habitat, breeding, feeding, morphology, status and conservation. Based upon Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World.
CAS SciFinder-n is a research and substance discovery tool of the Chemical Abstracts databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines and the CAS registry database. Now includes CAS Analytical Methods and CAS Formulus.
Abstracts of journal articles, books, & other reports pertaining to water resources. 1967- present.
Sponsored by: Beckwith Memorial Endowment.
Core academic ebooks and journals in mathematics, humanities and social sciences disciplines, beginning with their first volumes (sometimes dating back to the 1800s). Issues from the most recent 3-5 years are not available.
Records for dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day, with full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full-text coverage for older works
Looking for a good way to manage all of those citations? Want to automatically format citations in any of thousands of styles?
Check out Endnote Web (formerly known as Endnote Basic or Endnote Online)
For another option, check out Zotero.
A streaming video database that offers over 30,000 titles. The videos cover a variety of academic subjects, from producers such as BBC, PBS, Meridian, National Geographic, and more. Links can be shared through email, integrated into WebCampus, or viewed in the classroom.
