Library Guides: Environment: Articles/Research Databases

Environment Subcategories & Research

Which databases cover which subcategories of Environmental Science?

All Areas: Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, Web of Science, CAB Direct

Ecology and Conservation: Ecology Abstracts, Geobase, CAB Direct, Agricola

Toxicology, Pollution and Groundwater Issues: ToxLine, Water Resources Abstracts, Greenfile

Policy: WorldCat, PAIS International, CQ Researcher, WestLaw

Deep (Historical): JSTOR Sustainability, WorldCat, Dissertations & Theses

Books at the University of Nevada, Reno

To access the collections owned by the University of Nevada, Reno, use the Library Search on the Library's home page. You can choose Books under Resource Type on the Refine My Results menu. To find specifically e-books, you can also select Available Online under Availability.

To find items not owned by the University of Nevada, Reno, also use the Library Search, but check the box labeled Add Results Beyond Your Library. Most of these titles can be borrowed through our Interlibrary Loan Service.

CSE/CBE Formatting Help

Endnote Basic

Looking for a good way to manage all of those citations? Want to automatically format citations in any of thousands of styles?

Check out Endnote Basic (formerly known as Endnote Web or Endnote Online)

For another option, check out Zotero.

Interlibrary Loan and Campus Express

Need books or articles that the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries don’t own? Submit a request through Interlibrary Loan. Need a journal article or book chapter from the Knowledge Center or DeLaMare Library? Receive electronic copies through the Libraries’ Campus Express service. To place requests of either type, visit: https://illiad.library.unr.edu

Best Databases for Finding Environmental Science Articles

Below are some of the best databases for finding articles related to environmental science and policy.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Formerly Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, this database provides interdisciplinary coverage of journal articles and documents in the environmental sciences from 1960- present. Includes AGRICOLA & TOXLINE. Many documents are available in full-text.
Web of Science
This collection contains over 18,000+ journals and includes: Science Citation Index, from 1965; Social Sciences Citation Index, from 1965; and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, from 1991. Search by subject, author, or cited reference. An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool.
Ecology Abstracts
Indexes articles on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment. 1982 - present.
GreenFILE
Indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles covering topics related to humans and their impact on the environment.
CQ Researcher
A collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
CAB Direct
Indexes 4 million+ articles, books, reports, and proceedings in animal & plant sciences, human health, ecology environmental sciences, agricultural economics & rural studies, and leisure/tourism. Links to full-text provide article access if the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries subscribes to the source journal. 1900 - present.
BIOSIS Citation Index
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
Water Resources Abstracts
Abstracts of journal articles, books, & other reports pertaining to water resources. 1967- present.
TOXLINE
An index to articles on all aspects of toxicity. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it covers the most recent five years of articles, books, papers, and reports. 1999 - present.
SciFinder-n
Note: New users are required to register. After you register, you will immediately receive an e-mail from SciFinder with login instructions.
SciFinder is a research and substance discovery tool of the Chemical Abstracts databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines and the CAS registry database.
PAIS International
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) provides coverage of public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations, with some content available in full-text. Includes PAIS International and PAIS Archive. 1914 - present.

Other Useful Databases for Research in Environmental Science

Search the databases below to find articles related to your topic. In some databases, you will need to click on the Full Text link to find the article. If no Full Text link is available, click on the Find It button to open the article in another database.

GeoRef
Comprehensive database from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Contains nearly 2 million records in geology. 1785 - present.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
As part of the NTIS which acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports, the NTRL offers access to these authenticated government technical reports to libraries and technical information users.
AGRICOLA
Index to agricultural and plant science journals, USDA documents, and state extension service publications primarily from North America. 1970 - present.
Birds of the World (Formerly Birds of North America)
A comprehensive online source of ornithological knowledge for every known bird species and updated regularly. Contains illustrations, maps, videos, sounds files, and links to additional resources. Includes systematics, taxonomy, habitat, breeding, feeding, morphology, status and conservation. Based upon Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World.
Westlaw (Thomson Reuters)
Thomson Reuters Westlaw provides full-text access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes published in the United States Code Annotated, American Jurisprudence 2d Legal Encyclopedia, federal regulations, law reviews and legal periodicals. Also offers business and news resources.

Life Sciences Librarian

Amy Shannon

Email Me

Contact:

Knowledge Center 214-D (inside Research Services)
(775)682-6624

Subjects: Agriculture, Anthropology - Physical & Archaeological, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Biology, Environment, Neuroscience, Nevada, Rangelands, Science

Deep (Historical) Research

JSTOR Sustainability
An interdisciplinary digital collection of academic and policy research that focuses on issues of environmental stress and the impact it leaves on society. This database offers current full text journal articles and research reports.
JSTOR
Sponsored by: Beckwith Memorial Endowment.
Core academic ebooks and journals in mathematics, humanities and social sciences disciplines, beginning with their first volumes (sometimes dating back to the 1800s). Issues from the most recent 3-5 years are not available electronically through JSTOR; however, they may be available through their publishers or other vendors.
WorldCat.org
A comprehensive catalog with more than a billion bibliographic records from libraries around the world. Use WorldCat.org to do an extensive search of published material, to verify citations, or identify other libraries that own an item.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Includes searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full-text coverage for older graduate works.