Skip to main content

Biology: Articles/Research Databases

Biology Subcategories & Research

Which databases cover which subcategories of Biology? 

All Areas: Web of Science, Biosis Previews, CAB Direct

Molecular, Micro, Developmental or Cellular:  Biosis Previews, PubMed, Web of Science

Ecology and Conservation: CAB Direct, Biosis Previews, Ecology Abstracts, Agricola

Systematics or Taxonomy: Zoological Record, Biosis Previews

Biochemistry: SciFinder Scholar, PubMed, Biosis Previews

Deep (Historical): JSTOR, WorldCat, Dissertations & Theses

Books at the University of Nevada, Reno

‚ÄčTo access the collections owned by the University of Nevada, Reno, search OneSearch, then limit the results to the format (books, films, etc.), or search directly in the Library Catalog. The Library Catalog allows you to search by title, author, or call number.  In the Catalog, you can locate Knowledge Center items on the floor maps and text the call number to your phone.

To find items not owned by the University of Nevada, Reno, try searching the WorldCat database, which contains records for over 61 million items held in libraries worldwide.  Most of these titles can be borrowed through our Interlibrary Loan Service.

Interlibrary Loan and Campus Express

Need books or articles that the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries don’t own? Submit a request through Interlibrary Loan. Need a journal article or book chapter from the Knowledge Center or DeLaMare Library? Receive electronic copies through the Libraries’ Campus Express service. To place requests of either type, visit: https://illiad.library.unr.edu

Best Databases for Finding Biology Articles

Other Useful Databases for Research in Biology

Life & Environmental Sciences Librarian

Endnote Basic

Looking for a good way to manage all of those citations? Want to automatically format citations in any of thousands of styles?

Check out Endnote Basic (formerly known as Endnote Web or Endnote Online)

For another option, check out Zotero.

Journal Title Search

Already know which journal you need?

Search or browse E-Journals by Title or Subject

Image and Video Databases