Full text and citation searching of journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews on all aspects of North American history, including the United States and Canada. Covers publications from 1954 to present.
Sponsored by: Beckwith Memorial Endowment.
Core academic ebooks and journals in mathematics, humanities and social sciences disciplines, beginning with their first volumes (sometimes dating back to the 1800s). Issues from the most recent 3-5 years are not available.
Includes complete, cover-to-cover, full-text access to historical newspapers with full page and article images in downloadable PDF format. Newspapers include: Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), New York Times (1851-2021), and The Washington Post (1877-2008).
Search key national and regional U.S. news sources such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, and Reno Gazette-Journal spanning from the 1980s to present. Includes newspapers, magazines, blogs, trade journals, images, and audio/video content.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Note: This database may also be searched as part of Gale’s cross-collection primary source portal, Gale Primary Sources. Gale Primary Sources provides graphing and visualization tools to analyze documents, in addition to allowing searches across collections.
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1860-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Contains a comprehensive indexing of popular, general-interest magazines published in the United States from 1890-1982.
There's more! For a complete list of newspaper and magazine databases, visit the Libraries' Databases A-Z list and limit to the type News or visit the News guide.
Search or browse writings and biographies of women, representing various age groups, life stages, ethnicities, and geographic regions. Includes published and previously unpublished materials, from colonial times to 1950.
Regimental histories and personal narratives postwar period and early 20th century period, chronicling the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865.
Manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources from the Newberry Library's Graff Collection (Chicago, IL), including tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes, outlaws, and the growth of urban centers and environmental impact of westward expansion and of life in the borderlands.
This archive collection is gathered from hundreds of institutions and activist organizations comprising important aspects of LGBTQ life and culture from 1940 into the 21st century. The collection includes newsletters, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets and publications from around the world.
Contains collections of primary source documents from the records of federal government agencies, the personal papers of African Americans and records of civil rights organizations. Part of ProQuest's History Vault database.
There's more! For a complete list of primary source databases, visit the Libraries' Databases A-Z list and limit to the type Primary Sources.
A comprehensive resource designed for congressional and legislative research. Key features include access to U.S. Congressional publications, hearings, bills, laws, legislative histories as well as executive orders and presidential proclamations (1789-present). Other collections include the U.S. Serial Set, the Code of Federal Regulations, CRS reports, and many more.
Provides full-text access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes published in the United States Code Annotated, American Jurisprudence 2d Legal Encyclopedia, federal regulations, law reviews and legal periodicals. Also offers business and news resources.
There's more! For a complete list of government document databases, visit the Libraries' Databases A-Z list and limit to the type Government Documents or visit the Government Information guide.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History contains peer-reviewed, and regularly updated articles and essays on significant topics and trends relating to the study of American history.
