Library Guides: News Sources: Welcome

New York Times Resources

The UNR Libraries offers several ways to access and search New York Times content. You can also use U.S. Newstream in the Top Sources box of this page for better search control of more recent issues of the New York Times.

New York Times (NYTimes.com)
Sign up for a free account with New York Times own website. Content covers from 1851-present. Please note that users are limited to 5 downloads per day for content from 1923-1980. Search functions are also not as strong as other options. Note: Please visit the New York Times LibGuide for information on setting up your free account.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article scans from the New York Times paper with searchable text from 1851-2014, although some work by freelance workers are not included. Similar to the archive through NYTimes.com but with stronger search features.

Top Sources

This guide will provide some of the best places to find news sources, including for local, national, international, and historical news.

Current News Databases

U.S. Newsstream
Sources include The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, and local sources including the Reno Gazette-journal, spanning from the 1980s to present.
Access World News Research Collection
Includes news sources such as the Law Vegas Review Journal, Financial Times (London), San Francisco Chronicle, and USA Today, as well as newswires, periodicals, blogs, and web-only content.
Alt-PressWatch
Indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Covers a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society. 1970 - present.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles, editorials, reviews, etc. from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Search in English or Spanish. 1990 - present.
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: U.S. West Recent
Includes fully digitized, microfilm versions of The Reno Gazette Journal, The Honolulu Star Advertiser, The San Francisco Examiner, The Spokesman Review, and The Statesman Journal from 2010 to present (3-month embargo). All newspapers are searchable at the page level and include facsimile PDFs of every page from every issue.
Wall Street Journal
Full-text access to the Wall Street Journal, searchable by date or topic. 1984 - present.
Westlaw (Thomson Reuters)
Known as a legal resource, Westlaw does include some news coverage.

Current Print Issues

You can find print copies of these newspapers in the Knowledge Center's Popular Reading area. Non-local newspapers arrive a few days after publication.

Wall Street Journal
San Francisco Chronicle
New York Times
Reno Gazette-Journal
Nevada Appeal
Daily Sparks Tribune

Subject Guide

Teresa Schultz

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Room 214H
Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center
University of Nevada, Reno

775.682.5638

Subjects: Anthropology - Cultural & Linguistic, Government Information, Honors, Journalism, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology/Social Psychology