Full text and citation searching of journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Covers publications from 1954 to present.
Sponsored by: Beckwith Memorial Endowment.
Core academic ebooks and journals in mathematics, humanities and social sciences disciplines, beginning with their first volumes (sometimes dating back to the 1800s). Issues from the most recent 3-5 years are not available.
A database for the study of the modern Asia-Pacific region, with thousands of full-text journal articles, reports, and statistics covering a range of business, government, economic, and social issues. Includes Asia-Studies Humanities, a database focused on Asian languages, arts, culture, history, and religion.
This resource has been cancelled and will be unavailable after December 27, 2024.
Iter Bibliography indexes over 1.5 million citations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). The database includes citations for articles, reviews, books, catalogs, and database resources.
The East View Global Press Archive® (GPA) is a groundbreaking program to create the most comprehensive collection of digital news sources from around the world. GPA is the result of a landmark initiative of Stanford Libraries and the Hoover Institution Library & Archives to digitally preserve and make more accessible thousands of original print newspaper publications collected by the Hoover Institution and now housed by Stanford Libraries.
Collections Included: El Mundo Digital Archive, Imperial Russian Newspapers, Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers, Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers, Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers, South Asian Newspapers, Southeast Asian Newspapers
Find information on a wide breadth of topics from a variety of news media including newspapers, newswires, periodicals, blogs, videos and web-only content including the Las Vegas Review Journal, Financial Times (London), San Francisco Chronicle, and USA Today.
Covering a wide range of languages and regions, this curated collection contains a diverse array of international newspapers.
Includes full text of over 200 years of The Times (London), covering all major international historical, sporting and cultural events.
Note: This database may also be searched as part of Gale’s cross-collection primary source portal, Gale Primary Sources.
The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (published later as The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press and The Current Digest of the Russian Press) presents a selection of Russian-language press materials from 1949 to 1991, translated into English.
Note: Alternative Name: Soviet History Collection (1949-1991)
Note: Access Current Digest of the Russian Press here.
Includes content from Manchester Medieval Sources along with open access titles. Full-text documents and scholarly translations, with supplementary material and links to related resources. Organized around specific works or themes, such as Black Death, women, religion.
This database primarily focuses on English Enlightenment literature, 1701-1800. Includes digital images of titles from The English Short Title Catalogue, a machine-readable list of the holdings of the British Library, with additional documents from university, private and public libraries worldwide.
Note: This database may also be searched as part of Gale’s cross-collection primary source portal, Gale Primary Sources.
Historical works from 300-800 AD translated into English. Includes texts from the Middle East, Europe, and North Africa.
This official statistical source provides rare, detailed data on the German economic situation during the Third Reich up to and throughout World War II. Consisting of Monatliche Nachweise-ber den Auswartigen Handel Deutschlands (January 1933-June 1939); Der Aussenhandel Deutschlands Monatliche Nachweise (July 1939); and Sondernachweis der Aussenhandel Deutschlands (August 1939-1944).
Includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.
Exploring prominent themes in world history since 1820 as told through women's voices, this database provides a highly curated collection of primary source materials including photographs, letters, memoirs, periodicals, and more.
The Records of the U.S. Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955, provide insight into numerous domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S. containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Sino-American relations during the post-war period.
This collection consists of thousands of pages arranged topically and chronologically on topics including political parties and elections, unrest and revolution, human rights, government, and other subjects covering Japan from 1930-1949.
Primarily Department of State and CIA intelligence information cables concerning the Vietnam War, U.S.-South Vietnam relations, North Vietnam’s military and economy, peace negotiations, events in Cambodia and Laos, and a variety of other topics regarding Vietnam and Southeast Asia in the 1960s and 70s.
