Education: Reference Works

The Encyclopedia of Human Development covers topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament, and more.

The Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field, featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.  

The Handbook of Family Literacy provides the most comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of family literacy of any available book. It documents the need for literacy education for children and parents, describes early literacy and math development within the home, analyses interventions in home and center settings, and examines the issues faced by fathers and women with low literacy skills.

The Handbook series provides a compendium of thorough and integrative literature reviews on a diverse array of topics of interest to the higher education scholarly and policy communities. Each chapter provides a comprehensive review of research findings on a selected topic, critiques the research literature in terms of its conceptual and methodological rigor and sets forth an agenda for future research.

The field of education has experienced extraordinary technological, societal, and institutional change in recent years, making it one of the most fascinating yet complex fields of study in social science. This work encompasses over 1,000 articles across 24 individual areas of coverage, and is expected to become the dominant resource in the field.

This encyclopedia provides an in-depth look at a wide range of disorders, alongside interventions, the latest research translated for an undergraduate audience, historical context, and assessment tools for higher-level students.

The two volumes of this comprehensive, first-stop reference work collect and synthesize the knowledge base that has been well researched and accepted in the United States and abroad while also taking note of how this topic affects schools, research centers, legislative bodies, advocacy organizations, and families.