Dictionary of Zoology
Allelopathy : chemistry and mode of action of allelochemicalsThere are several useful books set aside for Biology 192. You can see the list by choosing Reserve Readings from within your WebCampus class or by searching from the Library's Course Reserves page.
A good work of background or general information will provide a synthesis of existing, generally accepted scholarship and knowledge rather than propose new interpretations and ideas. Background information pieces are generally shorter than your average article or book, and written in language that is easier for the novice scholar to understand. They also tend to be broader in scope. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are all background sources. More and more source are available online, but many are still in print in the reference collection.
Quick Tips:
This collection contains over 21,000+ journals from 1900-present and includes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index and others. Search by subject, author, or cited reference. An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool.
Formerly CAB Direct, this resource brings together millions of research articles, books, reports, and proceedings in animal & plant sciences, human health, ecology environmental sciences, agricultural economics & rural studies, and leisure/tourism. Links to full-text provide article access if the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries subscribes to the source journal. 1900 - present.
Index to agricultural and plant science journals, USDA documents, and state extension service publications primarily from North America. 1970 - present.
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
Use Ulrichs Web to check whether or not a journal is peer reviewed. Look for the term "Refereed".
Easy to search source of detailed publication information on periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
The following databases are good places to look for biology articles. The first two are the most useful for your insect projects, while the following two cover a variety of related science disciplines. Most databases contain a mix of peer-reviewed/scholarly articles and popular articles. Keep these tips in mind when searching:
To see all the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries' databases: A-Z Database List
Need help getting started? Use the chat box above, or use one of the links below:
