skip to main content

MLA Citation Guide (MLA 8th Edition): Welcome

Common Citations: Journal Article from a Database

One Author

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article."Journal/Magazine/Newspaper Title, Publication Information [volume, issue/number, year, pages]. Name of Database, DOI or Permalink or shortened URL for Database. 

in-text citation: (Author Last Name Page Number)

Latartara, John. "The Timbre of Thai Classical Singing." Asian Music, vol. 43, no. 2, 2012, pp. 88-114. Project MUSE, doi: 10.1353/amu.2012.0013

in-text citation: (Latartara 97-8)


Two Authors

 

Author Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article."Journal/Magazine/Newspaper Title, Publication Information [volume, issue/number, year, pages]. Name of Database, DOI or Permalink or shortened URL for Database. 

in-text citation: (Author Last Name and Second Author Last Name Page Number)

Latartara, John and Melanie Bass. "The Timbre of Thai Classical Singing." Asian Music, vol. 43, no. 2, 2012, pp. 88-114. Project MUSE, doi: 10.1353/amu.2012.0013

in-text citation: (Latartara and Bass 97-8)


Three or More Authors

First Author Last Name, First Name, et al. "Title of Article."Journal/Magazine/Newspaper Title, Publication Information [volume, issue/number, year, pages]. Name of Database, DOI or Permalink or shortened URL for Database. 

in-text citation: (Author Last Name et al. Page Number)

Latartara, John, et al. "The Timbre of Thai Classical Singing." Asian Music, vol. 43, no. 2, 2012, pp. 88-114. Project MUSE, doi: 10.1353/amu.2012.0013

in-text citation: (Latartara et al. 97-8)

Common Citations: Website

Identifiable Author

Author Last Name, First Name [if available]. "Title of Page/Article." Title of Site, Sponsor or Publisher [include only if different from website title or author], Date of Publication or Update Date, URL. Accessed Date [only if no date of publication or update date].

in-text citation: (Author Last Name or page title, if no author; no page numbers)


Andaya, Barbara. "Introduction to Southeast Asia." Center for Global Education, Asia Society, 2017, asiasociety.org/education/introduction-southeast-asia. 

in-text citation: (Andaya)


No Listed Author

"Vietnam: a Historical Introduction." Center for Global Education, Asia Society, 2017, asiasociety.org/education/vietnam.

in-text citation:  ("Vietnam: a Historical Introduction")

Common Citations: Print Book

Book with One Author

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of the book. Publisher, Year. 

in-text citation: (Author Last Name Page Number)


Olsen, Dale A. Music of El Dorado: the Ethnomusicology of Ancient South American Cultures. University Press of Florida, 2002.

in-text citation: (Olsen 25)

Do You Need Citation Help?

Set up a personal consultation with a librarian to get help citing sources and formatting your paper in MLA style. 

 Question mark with quote bubble saying "Ask Us!"

What is MLA?

MLA style was created by the Modern Language Association of America. It is a set of rules for publications, including research papers.

There are two parts to MLA: In-text citations and the Works Cited list.

In MLA, you must "cite" sources that you have paraphrased, quoted or otherwise used to write your research paper. Cite your sources in two places:

  1. In the body of your paper where you add a brief in-text citation.
  2. In the Works Cited list at the end of your paper where you give more complete information for the source.

More Citation Help

Want more citation help or examples? Choose one of the links below, or if you would like to use the most recent copy of the MLA Handbook, 8th Edition, 2016, stop by the Library and Research Services Desk on the 2nd floor of the Knowledge Center.

Permalinks and DOIs

With the large number of sources available online, it is common for citations to include a URL. It is important to note, however, that the URL you include for any of your citations should be a permanent URL (or permalink), one that will stay active past the time that you are on that webpage.  

Two Interlinked Chains, the typical permalink icon.

For sources found using OneSearch or a database, look for the "Permalink" button, sometimes indicated by an icon made of two connected, gray links, as shown above.

An alternative for using a permalink is a DOI (Digital Object Identifier), which is a type of permalink assigned to journal articles published online. If you have both a permalink and a DOI for an article, use the DOI.  

Seneca College Libraries

This guide is used/adapted with the permission of Seneca College Libraries. For information please contact lcc@senecacollege.ca.

Note: When copying this guide, please retain this box.

Didn't find what you were looking for?