The general MLA 9 formatting for articles is:
Works Cited List: Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, Volume Number, Issue Number, Date of Publication, First Page Number-Last Page Number. Name of Database, DOI, Permalink or URL.
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article" Name of Magazine, Volume Number, Issue Number (if applicable), Date (usually month or season year), First Page Number-Last Page Number. URL.
In-text citation: (Author's Last Name Page Number)
Many journal articles accessed from library databases will include a digital object identifier (DOI). A DOI is a string of numbers and letters assigned to an electronic publication.
The DOI gives your readers a way to find the article. If a DOI is provided, include it as the last portion of the citation in the works-cited list. The DOI should include https://doi.org. For more information, visit the University's Quick-How-To on Finding a DOI
.
If a DOI is not available, look for a permanent URL (or permalink) which is a URL that will stay active past the time that you are on that webpage. Look for the "Permalink" button, sometimes indicated by an icon made of two connected gray links as show, when using Library Search or a database. The permalink will lead on-campus users to the source and prompt off-campus users to log in.
If neither a DOI nor a permalink are available, include a URL if applicable.
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number- Last Page Number.
Ki, Eyun-Jung. "A Measure of Relationship Cultivation Strategies." Journal of Public Relations Research, vol. 21, no. 1, 2009, pp. 1-24.
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number- Last Page Number if available, DOI, permalink or URL.
Elson, Peter. "A Comparative Analysis of Nonprofit Policy Network Governance in Canada." Canadian Journal of Nonprofit and Social Economy Research, vol. 6, no. 2, 2015, pp. 42-64, https://doi.org/10.22230/cjnser.2015v6n2a201.
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, Volume Number, Issue Number, Date of Publication, First Page Number-Last Page Number. Name of Database, DOI, Permalink or URL.
(Author's Last Name Page Number)
Guillen, Jorge. "Does Financial Openness Matter in the Relationship Between Financial Development and Income Distribution in Latin America?" Emerging Markets Finance & Trade, vol. 52, no. 5, 2016, pp. 1145-1155. Business Source Premier, https://doi.org/10.1080/1540496X.2015.1046337.
(Guillen 1147)
Cite the first author listed Last Name, First Name followed by a comma, then "and [the Second Author's First Name Last Name.]"
Author Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article." Journal/Magazine/Newspaper Title, Publication Information [volume, issue/number, year, pages]. Name of Database, DOI, Permalink or shortened URL for article in the database.
(Author Last Name and Second Author Last Name Page Number)
Latartara, John, and Melanie Bass. "The Timbre of Thai Classical Singing." Asian Music, vol. 43, no. 2, 2012, pp. 88-114. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.1353/amu.2012.0013.
(Latartara and Bass 97-8)
Cite only the Last Name, First Name of the first author followed by a comma et al.
First Author Last Name, First Name, et al. "Title of Article." Journal/Magazine/Newspaper Title, Publication Information [volume, issue/number, year, pages]. Name of Database, DOI, Permalink or shortened URL for article in the database.
(Author Last Name et al. Page Number)
Latartara, John, et al. "The Timbre of Thai Classical Singing." Asian Music, vol. 43, no. 2, 2012, pp. 88-114. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.1353/amu.2012.0013.
(Latartara, et al. 97-8)
If no author is listed, skip the author entry and begin the citation with the article title.
Examples:
"The Horror." Career World, vol. 37, no. 2, p. 2, 2008. https://doi.org/10.1515/9780823237289.
(Horror).
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Name of Magazine, Volume Number, Issue Number (if applicable), Date (usually month or season Year), First Page Number-Last Page Number. URL.
(Author's Last Name Page Number).
Fort, Ellen. "The Ultimate Mushroom Trip: A Foray into the Woods of Big Sur in search of Spores, Caps, and Other Elusive Mycological Delights." Sunset, Jan.-Feb. 2020, pp. 64-71. www.sunset.com/food-wine/big-sur-mushroom-foraging.
(Fort 66).
