Skip to Main Content

GIS (Geographic Information Systems): ArcGIS Online

AGOL

ArcGIS Online (AGOL) is a browser-based /cloud-based mapping, analysis, collaborative web GIS platform that allows you to use, create, share maps, scenes, apps, layers, analytics, and data. ArcGIS Online can be used anytime, anywhere. It is part of the Esri Geospatial Cloud, which enables you to connect people, organizations, locations, and data by using interactive maps. ArcGIS Online includes and integrates with many ArcGIS products such as authoritative data and map layers, web app builders, industry-specific configurations, data science models, and the developer's toolbox.

AGOL includes everything you need to create web maps, create 3D web scenes, create web apps, and create notebooks. This includes imagery hosting and analysis, real-time and big data analysis and community collaboration around initiatives. AGOL also integrates with key products in the ArcGIS system, including apps for field operations, ArcGIS Pro, and ArcGIS Enterprise, to help you complete your workflows. You also have access to templates and widgets for creating web apps that you can publish to ArcGIS Online. Additionally, using ArcGIS Notebooks, you can access Python resources to perform analysis, automate workflows and visualize data.

This page provides:

  • Access for students
  • Access for faculty & staff
  • Applications 
  • Credits
  • Training resources

STUDENTS

ArcGIS Online

You can access ArcGIS Online (AGOL) through web browsers and mobile devices.

The University of Nevada, Reno has an AGOL Organizational Account that is available to active UNR students, faculty, and staff. It includes accounts, credits, training, group collaboration, and some hosting services. In order to become a member of the University's AGOL Organization Account, you will need to receive an invitation from one of the campus AGOL administrators.

Your GIS instructor or the GIS Librarian will send you the invitation to the University's AGOL Organizational account. Create your new or merged account with your UNR email (@nevada.unr.edu or unr.edu). After you have created your account, bookmark the AGOL login page and log in anytime, anyplace, anywhere with any browser.

If you do did not receive the invitation, please contact Chrissy Klenke, Earth Science, GIS & Maps Librarian.

CREDITS

Credits


Each AGOL University Organization Account receives 500 credits by default. Email an Esri Campus administrator if you need additional credits. 

"Credits are the currency used across ArcGIS Online. They are consumed during specific transactions, such as performing analytics and storing features. ArcGIS Online and any ArcGIS product that interacts with ArcGIS Online, such as ArcGIS Pro, Insights for ArcGIS, ArcGIS Business Analyst, ArcGIS Enterprise, and Survey123 for ArcGIS, can use credits."  To learn more check out Understanding and Management Credits in ArcGIS Online

Use the Credits by capability table to estimate how many credits you will need to perform specific transactions or store data for your project.

TRAINING

Getting Started with AGOL 


Esri Academy is a free online training resource and course catalog that provides a variety of options and learning paths for GIS. This academy is a self-paced learning platform to help GIS users at all levels to learn basics, applications, data management, mapping, spatial analysis, data science, field operations, scripting, imagery, remote sensing, 3D visualization and analytics for workflows, enhance projects with geographic context, and create information that leads to better decision-making. To learn more go to  ESRI Academy Training Course. 

With your organization AGOL account, you can access all the Free and Require Maintenance courses. The courses that are listed at a cost are not eligible.

Here are some recommended courses and paths to check out for AGOL:

  • ArcGIS Online Fundamentals - This 12-course focused plan is to understand ArcGIS Online capabilities, publish content to an ArcGIS Online organizational site, create web maps and apps, and review common ArcGIS Online administrative tasks. 

FACULTY & STAFF

ArcGIS Online

You can access ArcGIS Online (AGOL) through web browsers and mobile devices.

The University of Nevada, Reno has an AGOL Organizational Account that is available to active UNR students, faculty, and staff. It includes accounts, credits, training, group collaboration, and some hosting services. In order to become a member of the University's AGOL Organization Account, you will need to receive an invitation from one of the campus AGOL administrators. 

Submit a Ticket for access through OIT Support Center or software request form 

APPLICATIONS

Applications


ArcGIS includes a wide range of apps that help you interact with the maps and data in your organization. 

Some of the Esri apps that are licensed and accessed through the AGOL website are available in the app launcher. Once logged in, click the Apps button (six dots icon) in the upper right corner to view the list of apps available to you. Once signed in to your organization, you can access the following from the app launcher

When you click an app in the app launcher, it opens in a new browser tab.

Here are some recommended applications:

  • StoryMaps - Create inspiring, immersive stories by combining text, interactive maps, and other multimedia content. Publish and share your stories.
  • Survey123 - ArcGIS Survey123 is a simple and intuitive form-centric data gathering solution. Create, share and analyze surveys in just three easy steps.
  • Field Maps - ArcGIS Field Maps is a mobile solution that allows you to capture data, perform inspections, take notes, and share information with the office. Use the Field Maps web app to configure maps and deploy them for use in the field.
  • AppStudio  - ArcGIS AppStudio is a suite of productivity tools for building and deploying native apps to smartphones, tablets, and laptop/desktop devices.
  • Dashboards - ArcGIS Dashboards enable users to convey information by presenting location-based analytics using intuitive and interactive data visualizations on a single screen.
  • Living Atlas - ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World is the foremost collection of geographic information from around the globe. It includes maps, apps, and data layers to support your work.
  • AppStudio - ArcGIS AppStudio is a suite of productivity tools for building and deploying native apps to smartphones, tablets, and laptop/desktop devices.
  • And more!

To learn more go to  ESRI Academy Training Courses and search for the application for a list of tutorials.