Technical reports describe the process, progress, or results of technical or scientific research. They include in-depth experimental details, data, and results.
Technical reports are usually produced to report on a specific research need. They can serve as a report of accountability to the organization funding the research. They provide access to the information before it is published elsewhere.
Access to NASA's technical literature, with scientific and technical information from select external sources. NTRS provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos.
SciTech Connect consolidates the contents of OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database. Indexes energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, with citations for report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents. 1948 - present
A database provided by the Transportation Research Board - one of the seven program units of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. Includes abstracts and some full-text content of transportation research published worldwide.
Standards and their development frame, guide, and normalize almost all areas of our lives. Standards reflect the shared values, aspirations, and responsibilities we as a society project upon each other and our world. Keeping informed about the most current standards can drive innovation and increase the market value of an engineer’s research and design efforts.
Standards allow technology to work seamlessly and establish trust so that markets can operate smoothly. They:
ASTM Compass is a vast collection of industry standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. ASTM has created six types of standards that relate to manufacturing processes including test method, specification, classification, practice, guide and terminology standards. Our subscription now includes ISO standards.
Includes full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards.
Produced by SAE International, this resource indexes e-books, technical papers, standards, and conference proceedings relating to mobility systems engineering in the aerospace, automotive, and commercial vehicle industries.
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Standards provide access to the latest technical and engineering requirements in the aerospace industry. These standards are accredited by the American National Standards Institute.
Note: Subscription includes access to the standards only.
Here are some resources that help explain what is usually included in a technical report and how to write them!
