Library Guides: Social Work: Finding Articles

Writing Social Work Papers

Check out this advice on writing social work papers from the University Writing and Speaking Center.

Peer Review in Three Minutes

Not exactly sure what peer reviewed articles are? Check out this short video called "Peer Review in Three Minutes" from the North Carolina State University Libraries.

Other Resources

Encyclopedia of Social Work (Online)

DSM Library
The newest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5). Includes DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and DSM Legacy titles - DSM-I through DSM-IV-TR.

Top Databases

PsycINFO
PsycINFO provides abstracts and full text of thousands of journals from the 1800s to the present. Includes books, book chapters, dissertations, and reports about psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, education, linguistics, neurosciences, pharmacology, and social work.
Social Work Abstracts
Information about articles on social work and human services from more than 450 journals in all areas of the profession. Includes The Register of Clinical Social Workers.
Social Services Abstracts
Index and abstracts on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare and community development. 1980 - present.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Part of Web of Science. Search by subject, author, or cited reference. An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool. 1,725 journals from 1965- present.
CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete provides access to the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines dating back to 1937. Over 5000 journals are indexed including virtually all English-language nursing journals along with selected titles in biomedicine, alternative therapies, and consumer health. It also offers access to Evidence- Based Care Sheets, searchable cited references, and over 250 research instrument descriptions.
PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, and also includes in-process and pre-1966 citations and other resources outside of MEDLINE. While basic PubMed is free to all Internet users, this link adds "Find it" buttons to individual citations that connect to the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries' journal subscriptions and document delivery services for full-text options.

Other Databases

PsycARTICLES
Full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Includes content from the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. 1894 - present.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The Child Welfare Information Gateway provides information and resources related to the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families.
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database indexes over 6,000+ scholarly journals, with full text for almost 3,100 titles. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer science and engineering, general science, medicine, ethnic studies, and more. 1975 - present for selected titles.
Westlaw (Thomson Reuters)
Thomson Reuters Westlaw provides full-text access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes published in the United States Code Annotated, American Jurisprudence 2d Legal Encyclopedia, federal regulations, law reviews and legal periodicals. Also offers business and news resources.

Health Sciences Librarian

Elena Azadbakht

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

eazadbakht@unr.edu
(775) 682-5654
MIKC 214C

Subjects: Community Health Sciences, Kinesiology, Nutrition, Public Health, Social Work