University Libraries Alternative Operations Notice
The Knowledge Center, DeLaMare, and Savitt Libraries will be open from 8am to 5pm Monday through Friday beginning July 6. Limited services will be available and librarians are available to assist you online.
Guide to the best resources for musicians and music educators
Core academic journals in mathematics, humanities and social sciences disciplines, beginning with their first volumes (sometimes dating back to the 1800s). Issues from the most recent 3-5 years are not available electronically through JSTOR; however, they may be available through their publishers or other vendors. Note: Funded by the Beckwith Memorial Endowment.
Search music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present related to both classical and popular music. Includes indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals.
In addition to the Oxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Music Online gateway now includes access to Grove Music Online, including the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Second Edition; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, Second Edition. Need help? View a video introduction to using Oxford Music Online.
A comprehensive catalog with more than a billion bibliographic records from libraries around the world. Use WorldCat.org to do an extensive search of published material, to verify citations, or to identify other libraries that own an item. Note: The University Libraries no longer has access to the WorldCat Discovery interface as of June 30, 2020.
The International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) is a wiki-based source for public domain music scores, recordings, and information about musical works. View and print PDFs of scores and parts, and trade composition ideas.
The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting. The Consortium's goal is to promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.