Library Guides: Mechanical Engineering: Books & Videos

Find Books

AccessEngineering

Access Engineering is a collection of over 650+ full text engineering reference materials and handbooks, including Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers. Also includes instructional videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts.
IEEE Xplore/IET Electronic Library (IEL)

Includes full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards.
O'Reilly Safari Books
Formerly known as ProQuest's Safari Technical Books, this database contains curated technical books, tutorials, and case studies on programming languages, applications, systems, networking, web design and development, and more. Mobile App Available: O'Reilly mobile app
Note: A University of Nevada, Reno email is required to create a free account and to be able to access the app on mobile devices.
eBooks from Taylor & Francis

Formerly CRCnetBase, this new platform from Taylor & Francis contains over 6,000 full-text e-books covering disciplines related to Engineering, Mathematics, Medicine, Science, Statistics, Technology and more.
Knovel

A web-based application that integrates technical information with analytical tools to drive innovation and deliver answers engineers can trust. It includes access to a large e-bookshelf of engineering titles that provide researched data for real-world applications and offering interactive tools to help with calculations and information validation.
Note: A University of Nevada, Reno email address is needed to set-up a My Knovel account.

Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12th Edition by Ali M. Sadegh; William M. Worek
ISBN: 1259588505

This 100th Anniversary Edition has been extensively updated to deliver current, authoritative coverage of the topics most critical to today's Mechanical Engineer. Featuring contributions from more than 160 global experts, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Twelfth Edition, offers instant access to a wealth of practical information on every essential aspect of mechanical engineering. It provides clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions. You get, accurate data and calculations along with clear explanations of current principles, important codes, standards, and practices. All-new sections including Applied Mechanics, Engineering Ethics, Digital Control Systems, Sensor and Actuators, Vehicle Electrification and Hybridization, and Nondestructive Testing. Coverage includes: * Mechanics of solids and fluids * Heat * Strength of materials * Materials of engineering * Fuels and furnaces * Machine elements * Power generation * Transportation * Fans, pumps, and compressors * Instruments and controls * Refrigeration, cryogenics, and optics * Applied mechanics * Engineering ethics
Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, 9E by Richard G. Budynas; Ali M. Sadegh
ISBN: 9781260453751

Publication Date: 2020-03-30

he industry-standard resource for stress and strain formulas. Fully updated for the latest advances and restructured for ease of use This newly designed and thoroughly revised guide contains accurate and thorough tabulated formulations that can be applied to the stress analysis of a comprehensive range of structural components. Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, Ninth Edition has been reorganized into a user-friendly format that makes it easy to access and apply the information. The book explains all of the formulas and analyses needed by designers and engineers for mechanical system design. You will get a solid grounding in the theory behind each formula along with real-world applications that cover a wide range of materials.

Find Videos

Alexander Street - Science & Engineering
Documentary features on science and engineering disciplines, including dozens of case studies on famous disasters.

Films on Demand

A streaming video database that offers over 30,000 titles. The videos cover a variety of academic subjects, from producers such as BBC, PBS, Meridian, National Geographic, and more. Links can be shared through email, integrated into WebCampus, or viewed in the classroom.