Gender, Race, and Identity: Black Studies

Includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, ebooks, dissertations, and more for sociology, social services, and related fields such as gender studies and social psychology. Coverage from 1985-current.

Full text and citation searching of journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews on all aspects of North American history, including the United States and Canada. Covers publications from 1954 to present.

The Chicago Defender was one of the most important Black newspapers of the 20th Century, covering Jim Crow through Civil Rights. This database offers full page and article images from the paper, with searchable full text back to the first issue, July 31, 1909, through 1975.
Note: Current news content can be found by searching U.S. Newsstream.

Contains collections of primary source documents from the records of federal government agencies, the personal papers of African Americans and records of civil rights organizations. Part of ProQuest's History Vault database.

Provides comprehensive news coverage of the African American experience from 1976-Present sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.

Contains reproductions of hundreds of FBI files documenting the federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution to which black Americans of all political persuasions were subjected.

Contains 4,285 images from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library from 1961 regarding the Freedom Riders, civil rights activists that rode interstate buses into the segregated South to test the United States Supreme Court decision in Boynton v. Virginia.