Library Guides: Economics: Econ Data

General Links to Data

Sage Data
Sage Data, formerly Data Planet Statistical Datasets, provides access to data from billions of licensed and public domain datasets. Users can scan the contents of the collection, select subjects and variables of interest, and view data in side-by-side tables and charts. All of the data have been standardized and structured, and are described with up to 37 fields of metadata, including a controlled vocabulary.

Harvard Dataverse
An open source application to publish, share, reference, extract and analyze research data. It facilitates making data available to others and allows you to replicate others' work.

Data Websites

ALFRED (Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data)
The earliest data available is 1927, for the Industrial Production Index. Data are available in 16 categories, including banking, Consumer Price Index, employment and population, Greenbook projections, gross domestic product, interest rates, reserves and monetary base, and business cycle peaks and troughs.
Economic Indicators
Information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Eurostat
The official portal for statistics of the European Union.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Over 3000 U.S. economic time series collected from U.S. Government agencies, including macroeconomic data, interest rates, exchange rates and employment and population data.
FRASER
An open archive of economic statistical publications and data, complementary to data in FRED® (Federal Reserve Economic Data) and ALFRED® (Archival Federal Reserve Data).
U.S. Department of Labor. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics publishes the Consumer Price Index (CPI), Producer Price Index (PPI), employment and earnings data.
U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Data and studies on the safety and security of travelers, vehicles, and transportation systems.
U.S. Department of Commerce. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
The BEA publishes the Survey of Current Business, gross domestic product, regional, state and local economic information, industrial and international economic data. Analytical tools are available on the agency’s website.
U.S. Department of Commerce. Bureau of the Census
The Bureau of the Census publishes a wide range of demographic and economic data, much of it through its portal, American Fact Finder. Other Census data programs of strong interest to business researchers include Current Industrial Reports and the Economic Censuses.

Company and Industry Data

Mergent Intellect
Contains public and private U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. It also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers and the latest census data by zip code. Content from Mergent Online can also be found within this database.
WRDS
Sponsored by: College of Business
Financial and market data on more than 13,000 international companies in more than 80 countries around the world. Includes multi-year income statement, balance sheet, and cash flow data. Up to 12 years of annual history. Monthly prices and dividends. This includes the Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP), Compustat – Capital IQ, and more.
New users will need to register for an account using their institutional email address
WRDS - Student daypass
Sponsored by: College of Business
This link is primarily for the University of Nevada, Reno undergraduates who need to use the WRDS databases. This level of access allows you to use the databases but does not allow you to store data on WRDS (save it on your computer or external device). Log in with your email address. This includes the Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP).

Data Management

UNR Libraries Data Management Guide

US Economic Data

FedStats
Links to data sites of over 100 federal agencies.
Data.gov
Main database for data created by the U.S. government.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present (5 volumes).
Includes statistics gathered in the colonial and national censuses and other demographic and economic information. REF HA 202 H57 2006.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Over 3000 U.S. economic time series collected from U.S. Government agencies, including macroeconomic data, interest rates, exchange rates and employment and population data.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Archive of New National Bureau of Economic Research Working Papers and Books. Founded in 1920, the NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization that conducts and disseminates unbiased economic research.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR maintains more than 11,000 freely available datasets of research in the social and behavioral sciences.
Note: Only public data is freely available for use.

EconoMagic.com
Lots of long time series, especially from US government agencies (Federal Reserve Board, Bureau of Labor Statistics, etc.).

Nevada Data Sources

Nevada Regional Economic Analysis Project
Economic profiles for the state and counties, including personal income, employment, and industry performance. A good source for making comparisons between states or counties.
Nevada Department of Taxation
Nevada population estimates and projections are available here.
Nevada Workforce Informer
Statewide and local data on employment, unemployment, and occupational trends.

International & Non-US Data

World Bank Data Catalog
The World Bank Group provides free access to its comprehensive set of data on living standards, finances, and energy data around the globe - over 2,000 indicators, including hundreds that go back 50 years. The data is available in Arabic, French, and Spanish in addition to English.
IMF Data
Provides comprehensive access to international financial statistics, balance of payments statistics, direction of trade statistics, and government finance statistics databases. View and download predefined reports or build your own.

UN Statistical Yearbook - 56th issue
UN Demographic Yearbook
UN Data
The numerous UN databases, tables and glossaries cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators and Country Profiles.
UNdata Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online
OECD Economic Surveys
The OECD's detailed annual surveys of individual countries.
Monthly Statistics of International Trade
Statistics on international trade of OECD countries. Data are broken down by economic groupings, by country and by region, and include seasonally adjusted series as well as calculated indicators.
Eurostat
The official portal for statistics of the European Union.