Library Guides: General Science: Articles/Research Databases

Which Library?

Life sciences, health sciences, psychology, environmental and general science

DeLaMare Science and Engineering Library

Physical sciences, geosciences, engineering, and computer science

Medicine

Science Librarians

Specialist librarians are available to help you refine your topic, choose databases, cite your sources, create maps, connect with the makerspace resources and lots more!

Elena Azadbakht - Health Sciences

Chrissy Klenke - Earth & Geosciences

Katie Jefferson - Medicine

Lara Katrina Schott - Nursing

Amy Shannon - Life and Environmental Sciences

Teresa Schultz - Psychology

Jessie Simpson - Chemistry, Math & Physics

Finding Articles

The following links all lead to interdisciplinary databases. For a particular branch of science, choose a Subject Guide.

Science Citation Index
A science database produced by Web of Science. Includes literature in over 150 scientific fields searchable by subject, author, or cited reference.1965 - present.
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database indexes over 6,000+ scholarly journals, with full text for almost 3,100 titles. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer science and engineering, general science, medicine, ethnic studies, and more. 1975 - present for selected titles.
PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, and also includes in-process and pre-1966 citations and other resources outside of MEDLINE. While basic PubMed is free to all Internet users, this link adds "Find it" buttons to individual citations that connect to the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries' journal subscriptions and document delivery services for full-text options.

Article Searching Basics

Most databases contain a mix of peer-reviewed/scholarly articles and popular articles. Most broad inquiries will net several hundred results, so keep these tips in mind when searching:

AND returns results containing all terms: sagebrush AND allelopathy
OR returns results with either term: sagebrush OR artemisia
Quotation marks " " return results using that specific phrase: "life history"
Truncation * returns results with a root word and any ending: microbio* [finds microbiol, microbiology, microbiological, etc ...]

Need a Technical Report ?

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Formerly Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, this database provides interdisciplinary coverage of journal articles and documents in the environmental sciences from 1960- present. Includes AGRICOLA & TOXLINE. Many documents are available in full-text.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
As part of the NTIS which acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports, the NTRL offers access to these authenticated government technical reports to libraries and technical information users.