Use library databases to find journal articles. Database refers to an online, searchable index of citations for various materials, usually articles. These records will contain:
CINAHL Complete provides access to the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines dating back to 1937. Over 5000 journals are indexed including virtually all English-language nursing journals along with selected titles in biomedicine, alternative therapies, and consumer health. It also offers access to Evidence- Based Care Sheets, searchable cited references, and over 250 research instrument descriptions.
Should You Use CINAHL or PubMed? This page discusses characteristics of both databases.
Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
The Cochrane Library contains the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers that offer different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
An evidence-based point-of-care clinical reference tool updated daily. Includes clinical decision rules, practice guidelines, ICD-9/10 codes, American Hospital Formulary Service drug information summaries, and other medical reference information.
An Elsevier database that covers the same subjects as PubMed/MEDLINE, with an additional focus on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic science relevant to clinical medicine. 1947 - present (selectively back to 1902).
Sponsored by: Nevada Statewide Licensed Databases, through the IMLS
Provides access to hundreds of scholarly full-text journals in the nursing and allied health fields.
A collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools providing access to clinical drug resources including: calculators, identifiers, interaction & overdose assessments, and patient education resources.
Updated daily, MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers searchers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals). English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records. Coverage dating back to 1946.
A fully searchable database with over 11,500 monographs on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. It also contains historical records not available in the print edition. In addition, the Merck Index includes a reference of over 500 named organic reactions and reference tables that include common abbreviations, chemical structures, constants, and conversions.
PolicyMap is an easy-to-use online mapping platform providing over 75,000 data indicators related to demographics, income, housing, economy, health, education and more. Data can be accessed using the interactive map, tables, charts and reports which can be downloaded.
Records for dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day, with full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full-text coverage for older works
APA PsycINFO provides abstracts and full text of thousands of journals from the 1800s to the present. Includes books, book chapters, dissertations, and reports about psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, education, linguistics, neurosciences, pharmacology, and social work.
