Skip to Main Content

Savitt Custom Consults

The librarians at the Savitt Medical Library are happy to meet via zoom or in person for individual consultations covering specific resources. These usually take about 30 minutes and can be customized to your needs. To schedule a session, contact the librarian as linked below in the course description.

AccessMedicine Suite of Resources

An AccessMedicine session typically includes information on how to browse and search books, how to use the infographics/multimedia, how to navigate the quick reference options, and how to set up individual accounts to bookmark specific content. Additionally, the other products in this suite of resources can also be reviewed including: AccessNeurology, AccessOb/Gyn, AccessPediatrics, and AccessSurgery.

To schedule a session contact:

Katie Jefferson kjefferson@med.unr.edu

Case Files Collection

This is an online collection of cases from the Case Files books series. The online system provides an interactive approach to addressing case questions. This system is helpful for faculty looking to include clinical cases into their instruction and assignments. In this session, information covered includes how to access the system, how to set up an account, and effective ways for using Case Files.

To schedule a session contact:

Mary Shultz mshultz@med.unr.edu

CINAHL

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, better known as CINAHL provides access to the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines dating back to 1937. Over 5,000 journals are indexed including virtually all English-language nursing journals along with selected titles in biomedicine, alternative therapies, and consumer health. It also offers access to Evidence- Based Care Sheets, searchable cited references, and over 250 research instrument descriptions. Typically offering basic and intermediate techniques, this session focuses on how to access and search the CINAHL database and how to navigate and refine search results, save search history and create search alerts. Also touches on linking out to full text and submitting interlibrary loan requests.

To schedule a session contact:

Lara Katrina Schott schottl@med.unr.edu

Clinical Drug Information Resources: Lexicomp and Medical Letter

Lexicomp is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools providing access to drug resources including calculators, identifiers, interaction and overdose assessments, and patient education resources. The Medical Letter provides independent, objective, practical, and timely information on drugs and treatments of common diseases to help readers make the best decisions for their patients—without the influence of the pharmaceutical industry.

To schedule a session contact:

Alexander Lyubechansky alexl@med.unr.edu

ClinicalKey

The ClinicalKey resource contains over 600 journals, 1,000 online biomedical books, customizable patient handouts, drug information, practice guidelines, calculators, procedures videos and more. This session typically covers accessing, searching, and browsing ClinicalKey, setting up a user account, highlighting the presentation capabilities, CME opportunities and saving content.

To schedule a session contact:

Katie Jefferson kjefferson@med.unr.edu

Designing Effective Research Posters

This workshop will introduce participants to principles of poster creation aimed at increasing viewer interest and engagement. It will cover basics of good design and layout to maximize the impact of a poster, and discuss available software and templates that facilitate poster construction.

To schedule a session contact:

Terry Henner thenner@med.unr.edu

Embase

Embase is a biomedical database focusing on clinical medicine, drugs and pharmacology, and basic sciences relevant to clinical medicine. Embase provides access to bibliographic citations for more than 8,500 biomedical journals from over 95 countries. Embase also contains over 3.6 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 11,000 conferences and full-text indexing of drug, disease, and medical device data. Embase allows you to build searches using the PICO framework suitable for systematic reviews or to quickly identify all synonyms for a subject for comprehensive retrieval of all related content.

Embase Tools, Part 1:  PICO Search and Advanced Search

Translating your PICO statement into a database-ready search strategy is easier than ever with the Embase PICO search tool. PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome) is the widely accepted question framework used in Evidence-Based Medicine/Practice to help clinicians diagram clinical scenarios into clinical questions. The PICO tool integrates complex search functions into an intuitive guided format separating each PICO concept into its own separate search phrase. Advanced Search features in Embase include the use of Boolean and proximity operators, wild cards or truncation, command line syntax and field limits, nesting, and combining of search sets.

Embase Tools, Part 2:  PV Wizard, Drug Search and Medical Device Search

Additional focus on drugs, pharmacology, and medical devices in Embase is supported by these tools. The PV Wizard enables straightforward creation of pharmacovigilance (PV) and literature monitoring queries. Drug and Medical Device searches in Embase are comprehensive and relevant because of the extensive content coverage, indexing and device-specific terms to ensure adequate coverage of devices and therapies in use and facilitate searches by drug/device name and manufacturer.

To schedule a session contact:

Alexander Lyubechansky alexl@med.unr.edu

EndNote

EndNote is a bibliographic management tool that allows you to establish your own account, import citations from a variety of databases, and organize those citations into different groups. It also links to Microsoft Word where you can insert citations from EndNote and create bibliographies in a variety of styles such as AMA or APA. This session typically covers the major features and functions of EndNote including importing citations from PubMed and CINAHL and using EndNote from within Microsoft Word to automatically format bibliographies and in-text citations.

To schedule a session contact:

Michelle Rachal mrachal@med.unr.edu

Finding a Good Fit for your Manuscript

This workshop can help participants apply useful criteria and avoid mistakes when selecting journals that can be a good fit for their manuscripts. It will give an overview of metrics, such as journal impact factor, that help to quantify a journal’s reputation, introduce tools and strategies that can identify journals that are in scope for your research, and discuss ways to evaluate a journal for questionable or predatory publishing practices.

To shedule a session contact:

Terry Henner thenner@med.unr.edu

How to Stay Updated with Journal Watch (NEJM) and BrowZine

Two great resources are available to help clinicians stay up to date. The Physician Editorial Boards of Journal Watch survey the medical literature, select the most important research and guidelines, distill them into focused summaries, and frame them in a clinical context. In addition, they cover the most important medical news, drug information, and public health alerts. BrowZine is a platform and mobile app that enables library users to create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals, be alerted when new editions of journals are published, and easily save references to Zotero, RefWorks, Mendeley, and other services.

To schedule a session contact:

Alexander Lyubechansky alexl@med.unr.edu

Isabel

Isabel is a web-based differential diagnosis tool. Age, gender, clinical features, and symptoms are entered, and Isabel instantly returns a list of possible diagnoses. In addition, access to knowledge from the DynaMed database, textbooks, journals, external web resources, and guidelines and protocols are provided for each diagnosis.

To schedule a session contact:

Alexander Lyubechansky alexl@med.unr.edu

MedOne ComSci for Speech Pathology and Audiology

MedOne ComSci gives audiologists and speech-language pathologists access to a unique collection of online content, featuring cutting-edge content for Masters and PhD level instruction that includes e-books, detailed images, videos, and audio. The platform includes a rich source of case material for study and discussion in class, with associated question and answer sets provided for every case.

To schedule a session contact:

Terry Henner thenner@med.unr.edu

Mendeley Citation Management Software

Mendeley is a free, full-featured citation management tool that helps you easily collect and save PDF files to organize and manage your references. It integrates with your word processor to automatically generate citations within your manuscript and create bibliographies in virtually any formatting style. This session will introduce the features and operation of Mendeley as well as compare its strengths and weaknesses with respect to similar programs.

To shedule a session contact:

Terry Henner thenner@med.unr.edu

Open Access and Predatory Publishing

This session will focus on trends in open-access publishing and the impact of predatory journals on the publication process. It will highlight differences between open access and conventional journal models, and help authors evaluate the quality and legitimacy of journals and recognize unscrupulous practices.

To schedule a session contact:

Terry Henner thenner@med.unr.edu

PsycINFO

PsycINFO (Alternate Name: APA PsycINFO) provides abstracts and full text of thousands of journals from the 1800s to the present that span the behavioral and social sciences. The database includes books, book chapters, dissertations, and reports about psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, education, linguistics, neurosciences, pharmacology, and social work. Typically offering basic and intermediate techniques, this session includes guidance about how to access and search the database, starting with basic searches and moving toward some intermediate and advanced functions, and how to navigate and refine results, and how to create a personal account to save your search progress.

To schedule a session contact:

Lara Katrina Schott schottl@med.unr.edu

PubMed

PubMed is a database produced by the National Library Medicine, that indexes articles from over 5,000 biomedical journals. This is an essential database for searching journal literature in the health sciences. This session typically covers basic searching and applying limits by language, date, age, study design, etc. Information on managing results, using the clipboard, and establishing search alerts is also included.

To schedule a session contact:

Michelle Rachal mrachal@med.unr.edu

Understanding ORCID

Increasingly, funding agencies and publishers require that researchers have ORCID IDs. This webinar will explain why ORCID IDs are both necessary and beneficial. It will address how to create and manage your ORCID ID, set privacy settings, link your ORCID ID to eRA Commons and NCBI's SciENcv, import your publications from various data sources, and use ORCID to populate other scholarly profiles such as NIH Biosketches.

To schedule a session contact:

Terry Henner thenner@med.unr.edu

VisualDx

VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Features include curated medical image library; Skin of Color Atlas; smart search for chief complaints, diagnoses, and drug reactions; and custom patient-specific differential diagnosis builder. This session will cover navigating the diagnostic reference tool and building diagnostic searches within the system.

To schedule a session contact:

Katie Jefferson kjefferson@med.unr.edu