This guide provides suggested resources for getting started with research in mining & metallurgy engineering. You'll find information about research databases, article, books, journals, websites and more.
Generating search terms
The Search Process:
Define your topic
Perform your initial search
Record new search terms
Search again using new terms
OneMine.orgThis database includes technical documents, conference papers, articles, pre-prints, and late papers collected by professional mining and mineral societies worldwide.
Engineering VillageInternational index coverage of engineering and applied science literature in thousands of journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Includes Compendex, Inspec, GEOBASE, GeoRef, and Knovel. 1884 - present.
GeoRefComprehensive database from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Contains nearly 2 million records in geology. 1785 - present.
Web of ScienceThis collection contains over 18,000+ journals and includes: Science Citation Index, from 1965; Social Sciences Citation Index, from 1965; and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, from 1991. Search by subject, author, or cited reference. An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool.
IMMaGE OnlineNote: This database has been discontinued as of August 2021. Information on Mining, Metallurgy and Geological Exploration (IMMaGE) Online is a database of references to the scientific and engineering literature of the international minerals industry. Contains over 100,000 references to published papers, books, reports and more. 1979- present.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIncludes searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full-text coverage for older graduate works.
ASTM CompassASTM Compass is a vast collection of industry standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. ASTM has created six types of standards that relate to manufacturing processes including test method, specification, classification, practice, guide and terminology standards.
Agricultural & Environmental Science DatabaseFormerly Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, this database provides interdisciplinary coverage of journal articles and documents in the environmental sciences from 1960- present. Includes AGRICOLA & TOXLINE. Many documents are available in full-text.
Civil Engineering DatabaseIndexes publications of the American Society of Civil Engineers, including journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal records from 1958- present, with abstracts back to 1970. Book records, early 1900s - present.
JSTORCore academic journals in mathematics, humanities and social sciences disciplines, beginning with their first volumes (sometimes dating back to the 1800s). Issues from the most recent 3-5 years are not available electronically through JSTOR; however, they may be available through their publishers or other vendors. Note: Funded by the Beckwith Memorial Endowment.
AccessEngineeringAccess Engineering is a collection of over 650+ full text engineering reference materials and handbooks, including Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers. Also includes instructional videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts.
Materials Science & Engineering DatabaseFormerly known as the Materials Research Database, this resource is a combined index to Aluminium Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts, Copper Technical Reference Library, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, and Polymer Library. Indexes journals, patents, conference proceedings, books and reports with some documents available in full-text. 1965 - present.
GeoScienceWorldIndexes books and peer-reviewed journals in the geological sciences. The journals are also indexed and available via "Find It!" links in GeoRef.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)As part of the NTIS which acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports, the NTRL offers access to these authenticated government technical reports to libraries and technical information users.
SciFinderNote: New users are required to register. After you register, you will immediately receive an e-mail from SciFinder with login instructions.
A research and substance discovery tool of the Chemical Abstracts databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines and the CAS registry database.
Academic Search PremierThis multidisciplinary database indexes over 6,0001+ scholarly journals, with full text for almost 3,100 titles. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer science and engineering, general science, medicine, ethnic studies, and more. 1975 - present for selected titles.
WorldCat.orgA comprehensive catalog with more than a billion bibliographic records from libraries around the world. Use WorldCat.org to do an extensive search of published material, to verify citations, or to identify other libraries that own an item. Note: The University Libraries no longer has access to the WorldCat Discovery interface as of June 30, 2020.
Google ScholarProvides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, and articles.