Library Guides: Counseling: Other Sources & Clearinghouses

Browse Counseling Journals

Use BrowZine to browse recent issues of counseling journals.

Other good sources for counseling research are listed below.

Child Welfare Information Gateway
This service from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services provides information and resources related to the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families.
Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library contains the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers that offer different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Education Source

This resource contains hundreds of full text journals, books and monographs, and education related conference papers with coverage dating back to 1880. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. This resource replaced the Education Full Text and Education Research Complete databases.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Records for dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day, with full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full-text coverage for older works
Sociology & Social Sciences Collection
This database includes extensive coverage of international literature in sociology, social work, and related social science fields. It features full-text content sourced from scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines, and more. 1951 - current.

These clearinghouses provide summaries, reviews, and syntheses of the research behind various evidence-based programs.

California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare
The mission of the California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare (CEBC) is to advance the effective implementation of evidence-based practices for children and families involved with the child welfare system.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center
The Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center provides communities, clinicians, policy-makers and others with the information and tools to incorporate evidence-based practices into their communities or clinical settings.
Social Programs That Work
This site seeks to identify those programs found in rigorous studies to produce sizable, sustained benefits to participants and society.
What Works Clearinghouse from the Institute of Education Sciences
For more than a decade, the WWC has been a central and trusted source of scientific evidence on education programs, products, practices, and policies. We review the research, determine which studies meet rigorous standards, and summarize the findings. We focus on high-quality research to answer the question “what works in education?”
Guide to Comparing Clearinghouses for Evidence-Based Programs (PDF)
The purpose of this document is to provide a simple summary of the key distinctions between clearinghouses for evidence-based programs.