This guide provides suggested resources for getting started with research in mining & metallurgy engineering. You'll find information about research databases, article, books, journals, websites and more.
This collection contains over 18,000+ journals and includes: Science Citation Index, from 1965; Social Sciences Citation Index, from 1965; and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, from 1991. Search by subject, author, or cited reference. An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool.
This database provides access to over 17,000 marketing research reports for over 100 industry segments and 800 niche and emerging technologies. View-only reports on various global industries including technology, healthcare, retail, energy, aerospace, consumer goods, and automotive. Note: Supported by the Sustainable Mineral Resource Laboratory in the Department of Mining and Metallurgical Engineering.
Includes searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full-text coverage for older graduate works.
International index coverage of engineering and applied science literature in thousands of journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Includes Compendex, GeoRef, and Knovel. 1884 - present.
Access Engineering is a collection of over 650+ full text engineering reference materials and handbooks, including Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers. Also includes instructional videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts.
Formerly known as the Materials Research Database, this resource is a combined index to Aluminium Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts, Copper Technical Reference Library, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, and Polymer Library. Indexes journals, patents, conference proceedings, books and reports with some documents available in full-text. 1965 - present.
Formerly Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, this database provides interdisciplinary coverage of journal articles and documents in the environmental sciences from 1960- present. Includes AGRICOLA & TOXLINE. Many documents are available in full-text.
Indexes publications of the American Society of Civil Engineers, including journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal records from 1958- present, with abstracts back to 1970. Book records, early 1900s - present.
Note: New users are required to register. After you register, you will immediately receive an e-mail from SciFinder with login instructions.
SciFinder is a research and substance discovery tool of the Chemical Abstracts databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines and the CAS registry database.
The Foundation Digital Library provides access to thousands of original, scholarly and practical publications dealing with all aspects of natural resources and energy law with coverage from 2004 to present. Access provided by Fastcase.
An index tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. Provides over 500,000 records on policy and background information on U.S. foreign relations, health, and much more from 1976 to present.
Searchable Geoscience Map Catalog, Geologic Map Image Library, Lexicon of Geologic Names of the United States, and links to related resources. Note: Most of the maps in the Catalog are from the U.S. Geological Survey, and therefore available in our Ansari Map Library.
Web interface to the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD). Contains published crystallographic data on organic, organometallic, and metal complex structures whose 3D structures have been determined using X-ray diffraction or neutron diffraction. Note: When accessing new data content, the University of Nevada, Reno site ID and a University of Nevada, Reno specific annual confirmation code may be required. Send us an email to request a current access code.
Current and archival content from RSC journals, covering the fields of biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics. The Journals Archives includes all 238,000 articles published by the RSC and its forerunner societies, from 1841 to 2004.
CHEMM enables first responders, first receivers, other healthcare providers, and planners to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals.
Index to articles on risk arising from industrial, technological, and environmental sources, with emphasis on assessment and management of risk. Covers health, social, and psychological aspects of risk. 1990- present.
WISER is a system designed to assist emergency responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice.
Indexes 4 million+ articles, books, reports, and proceedings in animal & plant sciences, human health, ecology environmental sciences, agricultural economics & rural studies, and leisure/tourism. Links to full-text provide article access if the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries subscribes to the source journal. 1900 - present.
PubChem provides freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations, and more.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, and also includes in-process and pre-1966 citations and other resources outside of MEDLINE. While basic PubMed is free to all Internet users, this link adds "Find it" buttons to individual citations that connect to the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries' journal subscriptions and document delivery services for full-text options.
Provides bibliographic and full text content for more than 1,300 business journals, including indexing and abstracts back as far as 1886. Content includes financial data, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars, and more.
IBIS contains surveys of over 1000 industries including more than 700 NAICS industries and hundreds of specialized industry categories. Reports cover industry segments, market characteristics, industry conditions, profiles of key companies, and industry outlook.
MarketLine is a global business resource covering 120 industry sectors, 500,000+companies, 200 countries, and 1950 cities. Analysis includes Five Forces (Industry), SWOT (Company), PESTLE/PEST (Country), and Case Studies. Company News, Analyst Opinion, and Financial Deals are updated daily.
Contains public and private U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. It also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers and the latest census data by zip code. Content from Mergent Online can also be found within this database.
Find information on a wide breadth of topics from a variety of news media including newspapers, newswires, periodicals, blogs, videos and web-only content including the Las Vegas Review Journal, Financial Times (London), San Francisco Chronicle, and USA Today.
Search key national and regional U.S. news sources such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, and Reno Gazette-Journal spanning from the 1980s to present. Includes newspapers, magazines, blogs, trade journals, images, and audio/video content.
Thomson Reuters Westlaw provides full-text access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes published in the United States Code Annotated, American Jurisprudence 2d Legal Encyclopedia, federal regulations, law reviews and legal periodicals. Also offers business and news resources.