Skip to Main Content

Clinical Specialties Research Consults

Research Consults

The librarians at the Savitt Medical Library are happy to meet via zoom or in person for individual consultations covering topics and resources that will support your research goals.  These usually take about 30 minutes and can be customized to your needs. To schedule a session, contact the librarian as linked below in the course description.

Designing Effective Research Posters

This workshop will introduce participants to principles of poster creation aimed at increasing viewer interest and engagement. It will cover basics of good design and layout to maximize the impact of a poster, and discuss available software and templates that facilitate poster construction.

To schedule a session contact:

Terry Henner thenner@med.unr.edu

Embase

Embase is a biomedical database focusing on clinical medicine, drugs and pharmacology, and basic sciences relevant to clinical medicine. Embase provides access to bibliographic citations for more than 8,500 biomedical journals from over 95 countries. Embase also contains over 3.6 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 11,000 conferences and full-text indexing of drug, disease, and medical device data. Embase allows you to build searches using the PICO framework suitable for systematic reviews or to quickly identify all synonyms for a subject for comprehensive retrieval of all related content.

Embase Tools, Part 1:  PICO Search and Advanced Search

Translating your PICO statement into a database-ready search strategy is easier than ever with the Embase PICO search tool. PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome) is the widely accepted question framework used in Evidence-Based Medicine/Practice to help clinicians diagram clinical scenarios into clinical questions. The PICO tool integrates complex search functions into an intuitive guided format separating each PICO concept into its own separate search phrase. Advanced Search features in Embase include the use of Boolean and proximity operators, wild cards or truncation, command line syntax and field limits, nesting, and combining of search sets.

Embase Tools, Part 2:  PV Wizard, Drug Search and Medical Device Search

Additional focus on drugs, pharmacology, and medical devices in Embase is supported by these tools. The PV Wizard enables straightforward creation of pharmacovigilance (PV) and literature monitoring queries. Drug and Medical Device searches in Embase are comprehensive and relevant because of the extensive content coverage, indexing and device-specific terms to ensure adequate coverage of devices and therapies in use and facilitate searches by drug/device name and manufacturer.

To schedule a session contact:

Alexander Lyubechansky alexl@med.unr.edu

EndNote

EndNote is a bibliographic management tool that allows you to establish your own account, import citations from a variety of databases, and organize those citations into different groups. It also links to Microsoft Word where you can insert citations from EndNote and create bibliographies in a variety of styles such as AMA or APA. This session typically covers the major features and functions of EndNote including importing citations from PubMed and CINAHL and using EndNote from within Microsoft Word to automatically format bibliographies and in-text citations.

To schedule a session contact:

Michelle Rachal mrachal@med.unr.edu

Finding a Good Fit for your Manuscript

This workshop can help participants apply useful criteria and avoid mistakes when selecting journals that can be a good fit for their manuscripts. It will give an overview of metrics, such as journal impact factor, that help to quantify a journal’s reputation, introduce tools and strategies that can identify journals that are in scope for your research, and discuss ways to evaluate a journal for questionable or predatory publishing practices.

To shedule a session contact:

Terry Henner thenner@med.unr.edu

Mendeley Citation Management Software

Mendeley is a free, full-featured citation management tool that helps you easily collect and save PDF files to organize and manage your references. It integrates with your word processor to automatically generate citations within your manuscript and create bibliographies in virtually any formatting style. This session will introduce the features and operation of Mendeley as well as compare its strengths and weaknesses with respect to similar programs.

To shedule a session contact:

Terry Henner thenner@med.unr.edu

Open Access and Predatory Publishing

This session will focus on trends in open-access publishing and the impact of predatory journals on the publication process. It will highlight differences between open access and conventional journal models, and help authors evaluate the quality and legitimacy of journals and recognize unscrupulous practices.

To schedule a session contact:

Terry Henner thenner@med.unr.edu

PubMed

PubMed is a database produced by the National Library Medicine, that indexes articles from over 5,000 biomedical journals. This is an essential database for searching journal literature in the health sciences. This session typically covers basic searching and applying limits by language, date, age, study design, etc. Information on managing results, using the clipboard, and establishing search alerts is also included.

To schedule a session contact:

Michelle Rachal mrachal@med.unr.edu

Understanding ORCID

Increasingly, funding agencies and publishers require that researchers have ORCID IDs. This webinar will explain why ORCID IDs are both necessary and beneficial. It will address how to create and manage your ORCID ID, set privacy settings, link your ORCID ID to eRA Commons and NCBI's SciENcv, import your publications from various data sources, and use ORCID to populate other scholarly profiles such as NIH Biosketches.

To schedule a session contact:

Terry Henner thenner@med.unr.edu