Library Guides: Agriculture: Articles/Research Databases

Related Guides & Tutorials

Agriculture Subcategories & Research

Which databases cover which subcategories of agriculture?

All Areas: CAB Direct, Agricola, Web of Science

Animal Science and Vet Med: PubMed, CAB Direct, Biosis Previews, Web of Science

Plant Sciences: CAB Direct, Agricola, Biosis Previews

Conservation and Wildlife Management: CAB Direct, Ecology Abstracts, Agricola, BioOne, AGRIS

Fisheries: Environmental & Resource Management, Agricola, AGRIS

Nutrition: PubMed, Web of Science, CAB Direct

Biochemistry: SciFinder Scholar, PubMed, Biosis Previews

Deep (Historical): JSTOR, WorldCat, Dissertations & Theses

Books at the University of Nevada, Reno

To access the collections owned by the University of Nevada, Reno, use the Library Search on the Library's home page. You can choose Books under Resource Type on the Refine My Results menu. To find specifically e-books, you can also select Available Online under Availability.

To find items not owned by the University of Nevada, Reno, also use the Library Search, but check the box labeled Add Results Beyond Your Library. Most of these titles can be borrowed through our Interlibrary Loan Service.

Interlibrary Loan and Campus Express

Need books or articles that the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries don’t own? Submit a request through Interlibrary Loan. Need a journal article or book chapter from the Knowledge Center or DeLaMare Library? Receive electronic copies through the Libraries’ Campus Express service. To place requests of either type, visit: https://illiad.library.unr.edu

Best Databases for Finding Agriculture Articles

CAB Direct
Indexes 4 million+ articles, books, reports, and proceedings in animal & plant sciences, human health, ecology environmental sciences, agricultural economics & rural studies, and leisure/tourism. Links to full-text provide article access if the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries subscribes to the source journal. 1900 - present.
AGRICOLA
Index to agricultural and plant science journals, USDA documents, and state extension service publications primarily from North America. 1970 - present.
Web of Science
This collection contains over 18,000+ journals and includes: Science Citation Index, from 1965; Social Sciences Citation Index, from 1965; and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, from 1991. Search by subject, author, or cited reference. An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool.
PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, and also includes in-process and pre-1966 citations and other resources outside of MEDLINE. While basic PubMed is free to all Internet users, this link adds "Find it" buttons to individual citations that connect to the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries' journal subscriptions and document delivery services for full-text options.
PubAg
A portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. Includes thousands of full-text journal articles on the agricultural sciences.
AGRIS
Index to international agricultural literature. Includes articles, technical reports, proceedings, theses, and documents primarily from, or related to, the developing world. 1975 - present.
AgEcon Search
This database collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural and applied economics. Content includes conference presentations, working papers, journal articles, government documents, and theses and dissertations.
SciFinder-n
Note: New users are required to register. After you register, you will immediately receive an e-mail from SciFinder with login instructions.
SciFinder is a research and substance discovery tool of the Chemical Abstracts databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines and the CAS registry database.
Water Resources Abstracts
Abstracts of journal articles, books, & other reports pertaining to water resources. 1967- present.
Note: Water Resources Abstracts is a subfile of Agricultural & Environmental Science Database and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Formerly Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, this database provides interdisciplinary coverage of journal articles and documents in the environmental sciences from 1960- present. Includes AGRICOLA & TOXLINE. Many documents are available in full-text.
BioOne
A collection of full-text journals focused on biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
UniProt: The Universal Protein Resource
Comprehensive catalog of information on proteins. UniProt is a central repository of protein sequence and function that joins information contained in Swiss-Prot, TrEMBL, and PIR.

Other Useful Databases for Research in Agriculture

Search the databases below to find articles related to your topic. In some databases, you will need to click on the Full Text link to find the article. If no Full Text link is available, click on the Find It button to open the article in another database.

GovINFO (Formerly FDsys)
Free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, including full text of U.S. federal bills, public laws, regulations, and other government reports.
Ecology Abstracts
Indexes articles on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment. 1982 - present.
Note: Ecology Abstracts is a subfile of Agricultural & Environmental Science Database and Biological Science Database.
Zoological Record
Index to zoological literature and taxonomy references from all aspects of animal biology, paleobiology, and zoology journals published worldwide. 1864 - Present.
Birds of the World (Formerly Birds of North America)
A comprehensive online source of ornithological knowledge for every known bird species and updated regularly. Contains illustrations, maps, videos, sounds files, and links to additional resources. Includes systematics, taxonomy, habitat, breeding, feeding, morphology, status and conservation. Based upon Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World.
JSTOR
Sponsored by: Beckwith Memorial Endowment.
Core academic ebooks and journals in mathematics, humanities and social sciences disciplines, beginning with their first volumes (sometimes dating back to the 1800s). Issues from the most recent 3-5 years are not available electronically through JSTOR; however, they may be available through their publishers or other vendors.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Includes searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full-text coverage for older graduate works.

Life & Environmental Sciences Librarian

Amy Shannon

Email Me

Contact:

Knowledge Center 214-D (inside Research Services)
(775)682-6624

Subjects: Agriculture, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Biology, Chemistry, Environment, Mathematics & Statistics, Neuroscience, Physics, Rangelands, Science

Endnote Basic

Looking for a good way to manage all of those citations? Want to automatically format citations in any of thousands of styles?

Check out Endnote Basic (formerly known as Endnote Web or Endnote Online)

For another option, check out Zotero.

Journal Title Search

Already know which journal you need?

Search or browse E-Journals by Title

Or check out these lists of Online Journals:

Agriculture: Articles/Research Databases