Library Guides: Theatre & Dance: Reviews

Finding Reviews

Finding theatre and dance reviews is one of the best ways to learn about modern productions. Sources like The New York Times contain reviews of shows that produced both in and outside of New York.

Sources for Finding Theatre & Dance Reviews

New York Times (NYTimes.com)
Direct access to the New York Times through its own platform, 1851 - present. Users are limited to 5 accesses per day for content 1923 - 1980.
Note: Access lasts for one calendar year, after which you must re-authenticate. Please see the New York Times LibGuide for information on setting up your access.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Includes complete, cover-to-cover, full-text access to historical newspapers with full page and article images in downloadable PDF format. Newspapers include: Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), New York Times (1851-2021), and The Washington Post (1877-2008).
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019
Every page as published from over 200 years of The Times (London). The Times covers all major international historical, sporting and cultural events. Search the full-text of the newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.
U.S. Newsstream
Search key national and regional U.S. news sources such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, and Reno Gazette-Journal spanning from the 1980s to present. Includes newspapers, magazines, blogs, trade journals, images, and audio/video content.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
This resource provides access to journal articles, magazines, and books related all aspects of theatre, dance, and the performing arts in 126 countries.