Support the Libraries: How You Can Help
How You Can Help
Friends of the University Libraries - Annual Fund and Endowment
Since 1952, a dynamic community of alumni, friends, and faculty has contributed to the expansion of the University Libraries' resources and technology. Annual gifts help the Libraries acquire important research collections, purchase the best online journals, preserve rare materials, fund improvements to library facilities, and support the Libraries' public programs, extending our resources to the greater Reno-Tahoe community. Gifts made to the Friends annual fund or endowment provide an enduring source of support for acquisitions, programs, and services. Donors are invited to attend the many exciting exhibits and events made possible by these funds, such as the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame.
Leave a Legacy - Establish an Endowment
Establishing an endowment is an excellent way to leave a legacy at the University. Endowments can be established to enrich areas of the collection central to University teaching, or to focus on specialized interests. Options for endowments include additions to those already established, starting a new one, or creating a commemorative endowment to honor a loved one. Gifts of broadly directed endowments are appreciated. New endowments can be established with just $10,000 and can be paid over a five-year period.
Honor with Books
Honoring someone special with a commemorative bookplate is an easy way to support the Libraries. Make a lasting tribute, commemorate special occasions, or memorialize a special person in your life. Gifts of $100 or greater will be recognized with an electronic bookplate linked to the catalog record for the book purchased.
Library Student Assistant Endowment Fund
The University Libraries take great pride in training students to provide them with the skills necessary to enhance their performance in the classroom and work force. The Libraries employ more than 100 students in various aspects of library and IT operations. Gifts to the Library Student Assistant Endowment generate income which provides an annual scholarship in perpetuity to support an outstanding Libraries student employee.
Donating Materials - Special Collections and University Archives
Donations of rare books or manuscripts, individual or family papers, organizational or business records, photographs, and other media help enhance the Libraries' collections, as well as further the research mission of Special Collections and University Archives. University Archives preserves the history of the University and the surrounding area through documents, photographs, books, and memorabilia, much of which pertains to the history of Nevada and the Great Basin. The Basque Library may accept materials related to Basque history and culture, including papers, photographs, and other media.
To discuss these or other gift opportunities to support the Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center or DeLaMare Science & Engineering Library, please contact Kristin Burgarello, Executive Director of Development, at (775) 784-4471 or email@example.com
- Last Updated: Dec 12, 2018 10:38 AM
- URL: https://guides.library.unr.edu/support
- Print Page