Library Guides: Public Health: Finding Articles

Welcome!

On this page you'll see the best databases for finding Public Health articles as well as information about peer review. You will also find the Health Sciences Librarian's contact information. Please reach out if you have any questions!

If you're not sure where to begin or you're looking for a specific resource, try using the Library Search box available on the Libraries' homepage.

If a particular item you're looking for (article or book) isn't available at UNR, try requesting it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Recommended Journals

Browse issues of the top health sciences journals using the links below. You can also find them in BrowZine or using the Journal Search.

Top Databases

PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, and also includes in-process and pre-1966 citations and other resources outside of MEDLINE. While basic PubMed is free to all Internet users, this link adds "Find it" buttons to individual citations that connect to the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries' journal subscriptions and document delivery services for full-text options.
MEDLINE via Ovid
Updated daily, MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers searchers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals). English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records. Coverage dating back to 1946.
CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete provides access to the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines dating back to 1937. Over 5000 journals are indexed including virtually all English-language nursing journals along with selected titles in biomedicine, alternative therapies, and consumer health. It also offers access to Evidence- Based Care Sheets, searchable cited references, and over 250 research instrument descriptions.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Sponsored by: Nevada Statewide Licensed Databases, through the IMLS
Provides access to hundreds of scholarly full-text journals in the nursing and allied health fields.

Other Databases

Health and Safety Science Abstracts
Indexes articles, government reports and other publications on public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. 1981 - present.
Embase
An Elsevier database that covers the same subjects as PubMed/MEDLINE, with an additional focus on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic science relevant to clinical medicine. 1947 - present (selectively back to 1902).
PsycINFO
PsycINFO provides abstracts and full text of thousands of journals from the 1800s to the present. Includes books, book chapters, dissertations, and reports about psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, education, linguistics, neurosciences, pharmacology, and social work.
Web of Science
This collection contains over 18,000+ journals and includes: Science Citation Index, from 1965; Social Sciences Citation Index, from 1965; and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, from 1991. Search by subject, author, or cited reference. An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool.

Health Sciences Librarian

Elena Azadbakht

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

eazadbakht@unr.edu
(775) 682-5654
MIKC 214C

Subjects: Community Health Sciences, Kinesiology, Nutrition, Public Health, Social Work