Skip to main content

Transcripts from the University of Nevada Oral History Archives: Home

Special Collections at the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries provides public access to hundreds of oral history transcripts in its University of Nevada Oral History Archives.

Searching

Enter your term in the search box in the left column of the University of Nevada Oral History Transcripts collection page on the Internet Archive. You can search the metadata (titles, descriptions, keywords, etc.) or the full text of the transcripts.

Browsing

There are two types of oral history transcripts:

  • Volume-length interviews of individuals chronicling their lives

  • Themed collections of chapter-length stories from multiple individuals

The alphabetical lists of interviewees link to the volumes for both types of transcripts. To find an interview of an individual within a compilation or to find specific information within any volume, use the "search inside" magnifying glass icon or download the pdf and use the Acrobat Reader search function.

The lists of transcripts by topic are not comprehensive; they include the oral histories devoted to the topic and those with a significant amount of information relating to the topic, among other topics.

Most of the oral histories in the archive were recorded by the University of Nevada Oral History Program from 1964-2013. Oral histories from other sources are part of the digital archive, including several relating to the Stewart Indian School, Reno's Midtown, and Fourth Street/Prater Way. Audio files for many of the oral histories are available from Special Collections upon request. Please send questions and requests to specoll@unr.edu.

Screen shots from various films that have transcripts available on this website.