Online Access to Library Materials: UNR EZproxy & Permalinks
About UNR EZproxy
What is EZproxy?
EZproxy is the tool that lets UNR library users access databases, ejournals, and ebooks from off-campus using a UNR NetID and password. When you are on-campus (either on a campus computer or the wireless network), library databases and publishers recognize a campus IP address and know that you have permission to use subscription library resources. But, since our databases and publishers are only licensed for UNR students, faculty, and staff, they need to have a way to verify that an off-campus user is legitimately affiliated with UNR. EZproxy is the tool the UNR Libraries use to verify that someone is an authorized library user.
How does EZproxy work?
Authentication from off-campus is simple. When you start from the Knowledge Center webpage--using OneSearch, the catalog, or database portals--and find an online resource you want to use, when you click on the link to go to full-text or read online, you will be prompted to log in with your NetID. You are then directed through the EZproxy proxy server, which shows as a valid campus IP address to databases and publishers, and are able to access the resource you were looking for. You will usually only have to log in once per browser session (although there are some exceptions).
Using EZproxy: Tools to expand how you use it
In general, you do not need to do anything other than find a link to online content from the Knowledge Center webpage and click on the link. If you want to expand the way you use it, there are a couple of other ways to use the EZproxy service:
Proxy Bookmarklet: This is a bookmark that you can add to your browser toolbar, and it allows you to go directly to a publisher website rather than going through the library webpage. Clicking on the link on your toolbar adds the proxy prefix to direct you through the proxy server.
Google Scholar: You can set up Google Scholar to show UNR Libraries holdings, so you'll see links in Google Scholar that will go through the proxy.
UNR EZproxy & Permalinks
What are permalinks?
Permalinks are static or permanent web addresses (URLs) which point to a specific item such as an article or e-book.
Why use permalinks?
If you copy a URL from the browser it usually contains more information than the direct link to the specific item. Some databases also use URLs that change for each new search session even if you are looking up the same information.
Will the permalinks work off campus?
Subscription database links will not work off campus without authentication from a proxy server. If the permalinks do not include the campus proxy URL, students will not be able to access the material from off campus. Some databases will add the proxy URL automatically, and some will not.
What is the library's proxy server address?
The proxy server address should be placed in front of the permalink address for library resources that require authentication. Some databases will already include the proxy server address, but some will not. Here is an example of a permalink from eBook Collection:
For more information about EZproxy, and how it works, please see above.
Where do I find permalinks?
Most databases will have a permalink somewhere in the record. Each database will post them in different ways and places. For more information about how to locate database permalinks for some of our primary library resources (OneSearch, EBSCO, JSTOR, ProQuest, etc.), please see our guide about permalinks.
Have questions or need help?
If you need any help creating or finding permalinks for sharing content, please contact the staff in the Discovery Services Department. We can help you create stable, proxied links.
- Last Updated: Jun 11, 2019 9:29 AM
- URL: https://guides.library.unr.edu/offcampusaccess
- Print Page