Skip to main content

MLA Citation Guide (MLA 8th Edition): Ebooks

Take Note

While MLA 8th edition recommends including URLs, make sure the URL you use is a permalink or use a DOI. Because library databases require a login, the URL in the address bar may stop working after the session ends.

When citing a URL, do not include the "https://", if applicable.

eBook From a Library Database with One Author

Format

Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition, Publisher Name often shortened, Year of publication. Name of Library Database, Permalink URL.

Example

McClean, Shilo T. Digital Storytelling: The Narrative Power of Visual Effects in Film. MIT Press, 2007. eBook Comprehensive Academic Collection (EBSCOhost), unr.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e025xna&AN=446856&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_Cover

eBook From a Library Database with Three or More Authors

Format

Last Name of First Author, First Name, and First Name Last Name of Second Author. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, Edition if given and is not first edition, Publisher Name often shortened, Year of publication. Name of Library Database. 

Example

 Ziarek, Ewa Plonowska, et al. A Time for the Humanities: Futurity and the Limits of Autonomy, Fordham UP, 2008. eBook Comprehensive Academic Collection (EBSCOhost), unr.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e025xna&AN=1045294&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_Cover.


  Note: If you have three or more authors you may choose to list only the first author's name followed by et al. instead of listing all authors names. For example Smith, John, et al. The first author is the first name listed on the work you are citing, not the first name alphabetically.

eBook From a Library Database with Two Authors

Format

Last Name of First Author, First Name, and First Name Last Name of Second Author. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, Edition if given and is not first edition, Publisher Name often shortened, Year of publication. Name of Library Database, Permalink URL.

Example

Boss, Stephen, and Jason Cranford Teague. The New Web Typography: Create a Visual Hierarchy with Responsive Web Design, CRC Press, 2016. Ebook Central, ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/knowledgecenter/detail.action?docID=4689429.


  Note: Only the first author listed appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. Authors' names are separated by a comma. Before the last author to be listed, add the word "and."

eBook From a Website

Format

Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition, Publisher Name often shortened, Year of publication, Website Name, URL. Accessed Access Date.

Example

Henty, George Alfred. The Cat of Bubastes: A Tale of Ancient Egypt. Blackie and Son, 1889. HathiTrust Digital Library, babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=mdp.39015073478847. Accessed 6 July 2016