skip to main content

W.M. Keck: Home

Earth Science and Mining GeoScience Data Guide

Keck Site

W. M. Keck Earth Sciences & Mining Research

Geospatial Data Repository

GIS Image of Lidar mapping of the Carson River near Dayton, Nevada, indicates flood history.

The W.M. Keck Website provides a centralized location where users can explore GIS and geoscience data related to earth sciences and mining research throughout the state of Nevada. 

Please read:

**Over the course of the next few months, the UNR Libraries will be migrating its online GIS data and map resources to a more modern, secure, and accessible system. As part of this move, the Keck Site will undergo significant changes. In the coming weeks, we will be posting detailed information about where to find the online GIS data and maps resources after the server running the current Keck website is retired and rebuilt. We apologize for any inconvenience or outages that result from this move. If you have any questions about this process, please email the Keck Team at keck@lists.unr.edu.

Below are some alternative ways to access the data available via the Keck Site.  If you have any feedback or suggestions about the Keck site, we would love to hear them. Email us at keck@lists.unr.edu. 

We apologize for any inconvenience this interruption this may cause as we work on the Keck Open Data Portal.

Thank you for your patience,

Keck Team

Topographic Maps

The Mary B. Ansari Map Library collection, located in the DeLaMare Science & Engineering Library has a large physical topographic map collection and much more.  All maps are available for check out. 

Elevation

Digital Elevation Models (DEM)

National Elevation Dataset (NED)

NED data are still available and being updated continually, but the ‘NED’ terminology has been retired. The national DEM layers previously referred to as the ‘NED’ are now branded as 3DEP seamless DEMs.

Geology

The Mary B. Ansari Map Library collection, located in the DeLaMare Science & Engineering Library has a Geologic Map collection and much more.  All maps are available for check out. 

Transportation

Nevada Department of Transportation (NDOT)

Maps of Nevada include the NV State Highway Maps, Nevada Map Atlas, area maps and a four-part historical trail map series.

The Mary B. Ansari Map Library collection, located in the DeLaMare Science & Engineering Library has a large NDOT physical map collection and much more.  All maps are available for check out. 

Mackay School of Mines Theses Collection

Didn't find what you were looking for?