Skip to Main Content

Journalism: Find Articles

Using Databases

Students can access hundreds of databases through the Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center. Some databases are broad in topics while others focus on specific disciplines. Some focus on scholarly, peer-reviewed research while others focus on national and local news media. Explore this page to learn about specific databases you can use to help in your journalism class assignments.

For help finding articles, check out our Quick How To lessons on searching databases.

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find an article you're looking for? Submit a request through Interlibrary Loan. Requests for articles are filled within an hour to a few days and can be accessed electronically. 

News-Related Databases

These databases focus on news articles and videos from media outlets across the United States and the world.

Print News Databases

Video News Databases

Scholarly Databases

These databases include more scholarly, peer-reviewed articles about the discipline. If you're specifically interested in articles related to journalism, public relations, and mass media, the journalism-specific databases are the best ones to look at. If you're doing research on a topic for a story that deals with other disciplines, try one of our interdisciplinary databases.

Journalism-Specific Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

  • Library Search - This tool allows you to search most - but not all - of the Library's hundreds of databases at once. Not recommended for searching for news articles. 
  • Academic Search Premier - This includes more than 7,800 scholarly journals across the social sciences, humanities and STEM fields.
  • Web of Science - Covers 5,700 scholarly journals across all fields.
  • Google Scholar - Google's search engine that focuses on scholarly material. 

Other Disciplinary Databases

  • PsychINFO - Provides abstracts and full text of thousands of journals from the 1800s to the present. Includes psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, education, linguistics, neurosciences, pharmacology, and social work.
  • Sociological Abstracts - Indexes the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • Business Source Complete - Provides bibliographic and full text content for more than 1,300 business journals, including indexing and abstracts back as far as 1886. Content includes financial data, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars, and more.

Using Google Scholar

Many students and faculty prefer to use Google Scholar. This is fine. However, it's important to remember that Google Scholar results will often include articles that you normally have to pay to read. The Knowledge Center already pays for many of these articles, though, so instead of paying yourself or giving up, follow these steps to make sure you can read them at no cost.

  1. On the main Google Scholar page, select Settings at the top.
  2. On the new page, select Library Links from the left sidebar.
  3. On the new page, type "University of Nevada, Reno" in the search box and hit enter. Check the box next to the University of Nevada, Reno and hit Save.
  4. You've now linked Google Scholar to the Knowledge Center's databases. When you search for an item, look for "Find it @ UNR" to the right of each article title. You can click this link to connect to our databases. If you're off-campus, you'll be directed to first sign in using your NetID and password.