Skip to Main Content

Graduate Students & Library Services: Advanced Research

Research Materials and Services

The tools below can help you find the research you need for your classes and projects. Even when you’re off-campus, you can access the library’s online resources using your NetID and password. Just find the resources you need and click the links to access them. PDFs of articles can be instantly downloaded, and many books are available in electronic format.

Library Search

Library Search (the main search box on the library homepage) provides access to over 100 million books, ebooks, scholarly articles, videos and, images. The filters (located on the left side of the results page) are instrumental in fine-tuning results. 

You can check out books, equipment, and other materials using your WolfCard. Books can be requested and held for you. See Borrowing and Requesting Materials for more information about checkout periods, checking out books from the MARS storage facility, and renewing your books online.

Research Databases 

You can access hundreds of databases through the University Libraries. Choosing subject-specific databases will help you conduct more focused and thorough searches. See the complete A-Z list of databases and choose the best library databases for your research by using the drop-down menu to filter by subject. Alternately, you can visit the subject research guide for your discipline to learn the best databases and research tips for your subject. Check out Search Tips for assistance in searching research databases.

Borrowing from Other Libraries

You can use Library Search to request materials from other libraries as well as scans and delivery of UNR-owned materials. To do this, set your search parameters to include materials from other libraries, and use it to make requests for articles, chapters, and books. You can sign in with your NetID to see options for requesting materials, office delivery, status updates, and more. For materials not found easily within the expanded Library Search, you can make requests directly in ILLiad, the Interlibrary Loan interface. Contact Document Delivery for assistance.

Special Collections and Basque Materials

University Libraries is home to both the Special Collections and University Archives Department and the Jon Bilbao Basque Library, which together contain hundreds of thousands of unique manuscripts, documents, photographs, and records. Many of these primary sources have been digitized and are easily accessible online through the Libraries’ Digital Projects and Collaborations. Email Special Collections at specoll@unr.edu or the Basque Library at arrieta@unr.edu for assistance.

Dissertations and Theses

You can access dissertations and theses that other students have written through Library Search or the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database. Visit Finding Theses and Dissertations for more information.

Research Assistance

Gain insights about effective research techniques, citation tracking, scholarly publishing, and more through the existing subject and skills guides as well as individual consultations with your subject librarian. You can email your librarian, or click on each librarian’s name to schedule an in-person or Zoom consultation.

A sample of advanced research services that librarians can help with include the following:

Citation Management

Did you know that you can keep track of all of your sources and more easily format in-text citations and create reference lists by using a citation management tool? Citation management tools allow you to download citations from various websites and databases, electronically store and organize the citations, and insert citations into your paper in the format of your choice. Check out our guides on citation management tools like Endnote and Zotero and citation styles like APA and MLA.

Data Services

The Libraries' Research Data Services Team is a group of multi-disciplinary librarians available for consultations and trainings for students, faculty and researchers throughout the course of their research projects, from planning to sharing data with the public. Check out our Data Services page for more information.

GIS Support 

The DeLaMare Library offers GIS support services. Visit the library in person during drop-in hours or schedule a consultation for assistance.

Scholarly Publishing Support

Your subject librarian can help you identify journals and offer advice on getting published in your field. Librarians can also answer questions about copyright, fair use, your rights as an author, open access publishing, building your scholarly profile, and measuring your scholarly impact. Learn more by visiting our Scholarly Publishing page.

Systematic Review Support

 A systematic review is a comprehensive literature review conducted using standardized methods. Librarians can help you navigate the processes and tools necessary for writing these and other types of evidence synthesis papers. Visit Systematic Reviews for more information.