Library Guides: AI in Research & Teaching: AI Research Tools

AI Research Tools

When using AI to conduct research, consider when to use grounded vs. non-grounded AI tools:

Non-grounded tools generate responses on training data only. They are good for tasks like brainstorming topics, generating keywords, simplifying content, and improving sentences.
Grounded tools generate responses using BOTH training data and specific sources. They are good for tasks like conducting research and fact-checking (e.g., Consensus, Connected Papers, the library’s AI Topic Explorer).

Many of the tools below can be used in research to assist with finding, tracking, and summarizing scholarly sources. Many of these are paid tools that offer a free version with limited functionality. Many of these tools require users to create an account.

AI Tools for Finding Scholarly Research

Connected Papers
Starting with a "seed paper," users can create graphs and lists of articles based on citations in order to visualize topical connections and identify seminal papers. Sources come from the Semantic Scholar database.
Consensus
Provides answers to questions using information drawn from research papers, with associated article summaries, snapshots of articles, and citation help. Sources come from the Semantic Scholar database.
Elicit
Provides answers to questions using information synthesized from scholarly sources, in addition to article summaries. Extracts key data from articles. Sources come from the Semantic Scholar database.
Library Search Topic Explorer
Provides a general topic overview and returns the top 5 sources from UNR library holdings in response to a question. Accessible through the UNR library's search box. Users must login with their NetID.
Research Rabbit
Starting with a "seed paper," users can explore and visualize connections among papers/authors. Sources come from Semantic Scholar and PubMed.
Scispace
Finds and summarizes scholarly research found in a database of millions of papers. Extracts data from papers and assists with writing and citing.
Semantic Scholar
Searches for research in a database of millions of papers. Allows users to save research, read summaries, and ask questions of research papers.

Other AI Tools That Can Support Research Projects

*Note: Most library-licensed resources come with restrictions that prohibit the use of their content with AI tools like those below (e.g., downloading content from a library database and uploading it into a generative AI tool). If you are using library resources, please respect these restrictions.

ChatGPT
Provides responses to questions, summarizes content, brainstorms idea, improves writing, and more.
Explainpaper
Allows users to upload an article PDF, highlight a passage, and receive an explanation in simpler language along with related web resources.
Microsoft Copilot
Responds to search queries with answers and web sources; integrates with Microsoft tools like Word and PowerPoint for document creation, editing, and other tasks.
NotebookLM
Summarizes and extracts information from uploaded sources.
Perplexity AI
Returns answers to a query with cited web sources and allows users to ask follow-up questions.
Scholarcy
Summaries and organizes research into flashcard format.