University Libraries Alternative Operations Notice
The Knowledge Center, DeLaMare, and Savitt Libraries will be open from 8am to 5pm Monday through Friday beginning July 6. Limited services will be available and librarians are available to assist you online.
This concise volume provides an introduction to the principles of film analysis. Organized by the principles of form, narrative, and style and including illustrations and and accompanying analysis from iconic films, it will provide even the novice film critic with the tools to understand and appreciate the craft of film.
Covering the late nineteenth century through the early twenty first century, the volumes in this book series analyze American cinema by decade. Original essays discuss the impact of culture on film and film on culture, highlighting notable films from each year. Absent from this collection are the 1940's and 1950's.
Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. This database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, with many articles and books available in full-text.
This multidisciplinary database indexes over 10,000+ scholarly journals, with full text for almost 9,000 titles. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer science and engineering, general science, medicine, ethnic studies, and more. 1965 - present for selected titles.
Full text journals and books in the humanities and social sciences from several university presses and scholarly societies. 1993- present for some titles. Note: Funded by the Beckwith Memorial Endowment.
Core academic journals in mathematics, humanities and social sciences disciplines, beginning with their first volumes (sometimes dating back to the 1800s). Issues from the most recent 3-5 years are not available electronically through JSTOR; however, they may be available through their publishers or other vendors. Note: Funded by the Beckwith Memorial Endowment.
Over one million citations to books, scholarly journals, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies from languages, literatures, linguistics and folklore. 1926 - present.
Offers a variety of documentary and feature film from an array of producers and distributors including BBC Active, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Documentary Educational Resources, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, Kino Lorber Edu, Media Education Foundation, National Film Board of Canada, PBS, Psychotherapy.net, and the DEFA Film Library's (East) German Film Collection. Films the library has already licensed will play automatically. Other titles may be discovered and requested for library purchases through the Kanopy interface. Note: Kanopy's mediated access will require users to submit a request to purchase a title for a course. You will notice a pop-up screen that will ask for additional information when you attempt to view titles that are not yet owned by the library. Please visit the Kanopy guide for more information.
A streaming video database that offers over 30,000 titles. The videos cover a variety of academic subjects, from producers such as BBC, PBS, Meridian, National Geographic, and more. Links can be shared through email, integrated into WebCampus, or viewed in the classroom.
Offering streaming through their Swank Digital Campus service, Swank Motion Pictures is the nontheatrical distributor for the majority of the major Hollywood studios as well as many independent, foreign, art house, and documentary offerings.
Instructors: To search films that are available for licensing, go to: www.swank.com/digitalcampus. Request films using this form. It takes up to 7 business days for Swank films to become available. If you have questions, please contact the Libraries' acquisitions team at email@example.com. *A University of Nevada, Reno NetID required to view films.
The Society for Cinema and Media brings together scholars of film and media studies through conferences, journal publications, and working groups. Check out SCMS-U, their page dedicated to resources and announcements for undergraduates.