The Linguistics collection contains the Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) index as well as full text. Topics cover phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. 1973 - Current.
This database combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with over three million citations to books, scholarly journals, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies from languages, literatures, linguistics, film, folklore, and theater. 1880's - present.
Note: Please reach out to the subject librarian for languages and linguistics for the log in credentials.
Babel is a quarterly magazine for linguistic research for a wide variety of languages, exploring topics ranging from endangered languages to linguistic evolution and communication theory. This platform contains the complete archive starting in 2012, featuring articles from leading scholars and language enthusiasts alike.
Comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world's known living languages. Languages are listed alphabetically by primary name under the country of the main population. Information includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, and other demographic and sociolinguistic information.
The complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition OED. Quarterly updates of the in-progress third edition. Entries include etymology, usage quotes, and date charts.
Capturing work from the late 19th century onward, the Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) aims to record the use of English across more than a thousand communities throughout the United States. The digital edition includes not only the entries and associated survey data from the print editions, but also the audio recordings that preserve regional pronunciations.
Electronic versions of: The Middle English Dictionary; HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse based on the MED bibliographies; and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as related links.
