On this page you'll see the best databases for finding Community Health Sciences articles as well as information about peer review. You will also find the Health Sciences Librarian's contact information. Please reach out if you have any questions!
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, and also includes in-process and pre-1966 citations and other resources outside of MEDLINE. While basic PubMed is free to all Internet users, this link adds "Find it" buttons to individual citations that connect to UNR journal subscriptions and document delivery services for full-text options.
Use Ovid to search MEDLINE, The National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index. This database contains over 20 million references to journal articles in biomedicine and allied health fields, 1946 - present.
CINAHL Complete provides access to the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines dating back to 1937. Over 5000 journals are indexed including virtually all English-language nursing journals along with selected titles in biomedicine, alternative therapies, and consumer health. It also offers access to Evidence- Based Care Sheets, searchable cited references, and over 250 research instrument descriptions.
Citations, abstracts, or full-text access to 700+ general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets. Designed for nursing and allied health students, as well as consumer health researchers. 1980- present.
PsycINFO provides abstracts and full text of thousands of journals from the 1800s to the present. Includes books, book chapters, dissertations, and reports about psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, education, linguistics, neurosciences, pharmacology, and social work.
Note: Our current license allows only eight (8) users at a time.
Bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 1.7 million titles, including journals, monographs, dissertations, and theses in 60 different languages. 1800 - present.
This collection contains over 18,000+ journals and includes: Science Citation Index, from 1965; Social Sciences Citation Index, from 1965; and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, from 1991. Search by subject, author, or cited reference. An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool.