Skip to Main Content

EndNote Basic

Import/Export Filters

Import/Export Filters

Filters are translators that allow EndNote to either correctly interpret citations coming from databases (import filters) or correctly format your bibliography in the chosen style (output filters).  You select your "favorite" filters from the lists on the COLLECT and FORMAT tabs.

Please Note:

There is not an available import filter for every database.  Also, as database software is upgraded, some filters cease to work and/or are removed.  If you go out on the web you can find filters that other institutions have created.  These usually only work with the desktop EndNote product, which allows custom filter development.

There are not export filters for every journal.  Users who are preparing manuscripts for journals not covered should check the instructions for Authors of their desired journal.  In some cases, the required style will be the same as other journals from that publisher or within the discipline.

Outputted bibliographies should be checked for accuracy – some strange extra punctuation can occur, plus some databases fail to map fields correctly for odd formats of items (i.e. patents, photographs, etc.).

When outputting a bibliography, choose the file format “HTML”, then choose “Preview and Print”.  This will create a nicely formatted bib that can be copied and pasted directly into your document.

Why can't I use the database search function within EndNote Online?

Direct searching from within EndNote Basic does not work due to the proxy requirements. EndNote Basic does not have the capacity to send your NetID to licensed database providers.

An exception: Freely available databases, such as PubMed, may be searched directly.  The "Find It" button will not appear when searching directly.

ACM Digital Library

  1. Select the citation/s you want to export by clicking the box next to each item. Click on the Download Citation button at the top of the page.
  2. In a new screen under Format, select RIS, then hit the Download Citation button.
  3. A new window appears prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the file to the desktop as a RIS (.ris) file.
  4. Log in to EndNote Basic. Under the Collect tab, select Import References.
  5. Click Browse to locate and attach the saved file. Under filter, select Refman RIS, select the group where you would like the citation to be placed, then hit Import.

 

ARTstor

In ARTstor:

  1. Click on thumbnail images (an orange border will appear on selected images).
  2. Click on Tools/Save citations for selected images.
  3. Click again on Tools/View and export citations. A pop-up box will appear.
  4. Click Select All or scroll down and select each item you want to move.
  5. Click on the wording “Directly export into Endnote, ProCite, or Reference Manager”. An .RIS file will automatically be sent to your computer.

In Endnote Basic:

  1. Open EndNote Basic and select Collect/Import References.
  2. Choose the downloaded file and the ARTstor import filter and click Import.

NOTE: The “Find It” button will transfer, but will not work, but a URL for the image will be part of the record.

 

BioOne

  1. Click on the record you want to export by clicking the box next to each item. At the top of the page, click the Download to Citation Manager link.
  2. In the new screen, select in what format you want the citation, then click the Download article citation button.
  3. A new window appears prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the file to the desktop as an RIS (.ris) file.
  4. Log in to EndNote Basic. Under the Collect tab, select Import References.
  5. Click Browse to locate and attach the saved file. Under filter, select Refman RIS, select the group where you would like the citation to be placed, then hit Import.

 

CAB Direct

  1. After a search, select items (click on the green box by item numbers).
  2. At the top of the list of items, choose the download or export icon (downward arrow in a small box).
  3. Choose Full Record and RIS format.
  4. Save the file (“SavedRecords-FullRecord.ris”).
  5. Open EndNote Basic and choose Collect/Import References.
  6. Use the CABDirect (CABI) import filter, browse to find your saved file, and import.

Note: Works well with journal citations, problematic with non-article citations. “Find it” links transfer and work for journal articles.    

CAS SciFinder Scholar

Export Instructions:  

  1. Search CAS SciFinder Scholar database.
  2. Select citations to import into EndNote Web.
  3. Click Save As.
  4. Select Save as type as tagged format (*txt) in the pop-up box.
  5. Type in name of the file.
  6. Click Save and Close.

Import Instructions: 

  1. Log into EndNote Basic at https://myendnoteweb.com
  2. Click the Collect tab.
  3. Click on Import References.
  4. Click Browse and find the file saved.
  5. Select Filter – choose the SciFinder(CAS) filter.
  6. Click Import.

Chadwick Healey

  1. Conduct a search.
  2. Mark your citations by clicking on the box next to the desired article.
  3. Click Marked List.
  4. Choose Download Citations.
  5. Select Format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, Reference Manager and RefWorks
  6. Download the file (Default file name citation.txt).
  7. Log in to EndNote Basic. Under the Collect tab, select Import References.
  8. Click Browse to locate and attach the saved file. Under filter, select Refman RIS, select the group where you would like the citation to be placed, then hit Import.

EBSCO

  1. Add items to a folder.
  2. Click on folder view (right side menu).
  3. Select items to save.
  4. Click on the EXPORT icon (picture of the document with an arrow on the right side menu).
  5. Choose Direct Export to EndNote Web and Save.
  6. EndNote Basic will open in a separate window (prompting you to log in if needed; You may need to confirm a security certificate. This is normal.)
  7. Items will be automatically added to your Unfiled folder

Note: You may need to “allow Pop-ups” and try saving again.

Alternate instructions for some browsers/computers:

  1. Add items to a folder
  2. Click on folder view (right side menu)
  3. Select items to save
  4. Click on the EXPORT icon (picture of the document with an arrow on the right side menu)
  5. Choose Direct Export in RIS format and Save.
  6. Open EndNote and choose to COLLECT/IMPORT REFERENCES.
  7. Find the file (delivery.ris) in your downloads and import using the RefMan RIS import option/filter.

Engineering Village / Compendex

  1. Select items.
  2. Choose Download and select RIS, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager.
  3. Save file (.ris format).
  4. Open EndNote Basic and choose Collect/Import References.
  5. Use “EI Compendex (EI)” import filter, browse to find your saved file, and import.

Note: The “Find it” links can transfer

IEEE Xplore

Stage One: saving your references in IEEE Xplore

  1. Do your search as normal.
  2. Tick the box to the left of the references you want to keep.
  3. Click on the View Selected Items button.
  4. On the left-hand side of the screen, in the Download Citations box, select the option EndNote, ProCite, RefMan from the drop-down menu.
  5. Click on the >> button and save the file as normal.

Stage Two: importing the references into EndNote Basic

  1. Click on the Collect tab.
  2. Click on Import References.
  3. Click on the Browse button and find the file you have just saved.
  4. Click on the drop-down menu labeled Filter and select RefMan RIS.
  5. Click on the drop-down menu labeled To and select the group you want to send your references to.
  6. Click on the Import button.

Google Scholar

Items from Google Scholar must be transferred one citation at a time.  Google Scholar citations are often messy, requiring manual clean-up and addition of missing fields.

First: configure Google Scholar to send references to EndNote Basic:

  1. Go to the Google Scholar home page at https://scholar.google.com/.
  2. Click on the drop down menu (upper left) and choose Settings.
  3. Under Bibliography Manager select the option Show links to import citations into and choose RefMan in the drop-down box.
  4. Click on the Save button.

Second: import search results into EndNote Basic:

  1. After performing a search on Google Scholar click on the Import into RefMan link for the reference you want to import.
  2. When you are presented with a window asking if you want to Open or Save the file, choose to save the file.
  3. In EndNote Basic, select Collect/Import.
  4. In the Import window, select the file you downloaded.
  5. Choose the Import filter called RefMan (RIS).
  6. Click the Import button and your reference will be imported into the Unfiled folder.

Note:  The “Find It” button will transfer.

JSTOR

  1. Select items, then click on Export citation.
  2. Choose RIS File.
  3. Save the file (default file name will be citations.ris).
  4. Open EndNote Basic and choose Collect/Import References.
  5. Choose JSTOR input filter, browse to find your saved file, and import.

 Note: The “Find it” button transfers and works

OCLC / WorldCat Discovery

OCLC/FirstSearch:

  1. Select items, then click on Marked Records (on the upper blue menu bar).
  2. Click on Export.
  3. Choose Text File (NOT “EndNote”) and Export.
  4. Save the file (default file name will be DirectExport.txt).
  5. Open EndNote Basic and choose Collect/Import References.
  6. Choose the input filter by the name of the database and OCLC designation (i.e., WorldCat), browse to find your saved file, and import.

Note: The “Find it” button transfers and works for some, but not all databases.

WorldCat Discovery:

Note: In Firefox on PC  you may be only able to export one item at a time. Other browsers (and sometimes Firefox) work for multiple items. In some other cases, you may be able to move the items on a list directly to EndNote Basic (follow prompts). For most cases:

  1. Click the button with an arrow to the right of the item title and choose Cite record.
  2. In the pop-up box choose Cite with EndNote and save the file
  3. Open EndNote Basic and choose Collect/Import References
  4. Choose RefMan RIS import filter, browse to find your saved file (likely in Downloads) and import.

Ovid

  1. Search for the desired item.
  2. Mark the records you want to export by clicking the box next to each item.
  3. At the top of the page, click the Export link.
  4. A new window appears. From the Export To drop-down menu at the top, select RIS, then hit the Export citation button.
  5. A new window appears prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the file.
  6. Login to EndNote Basic.
  7. Under Collect, select Import References.
  8. Click Browse to locate and attach the saved text file.
  9. Under Filter, select RefMan RIS.
  10. Select the group where you would like the citation to be placed, then hit Import.

Project MUSE

  1. Search for the desired item.
  2. Mark the records you want to export by clicking the box next to each item.
  3. Above the results page, click the Save Marked Records button.
  4. At the top right side of the page in the yellow box, click the View Saved Results link.
  5. In the new screen, the items you want to export are displayed. At the top of the page in the Export marked citations to section, select EndNote, then hit the Export button.
  6. A new window appears prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the file to the desktop.
  7. Login to EndNote Basic.
  8. Under Collect, select Import References.
  9. Click Browse to locate and attach the saved text file.
  10. Under Filter, select ProCiteRIS.
  11. Select the group where you would like the citation to be placed, then hit Import.

ProQuest / UMI

  1. Select citations desired, then click on Selected Items to display list.
  2. Choose“Export/Save; a box will open. 
  3. Choose RIS and Continue, then save the file.
  4. Open EndNote Basic and choose Collect/Import References
  5. Use ProQuest import filter, browse to find your saved file, and import.

Note: If the item has full text link, the link is transferred but will not work off-campus (bypasses proxy).

PubMed / Medline

  1. Select items.
  2. Under the Send to the dropdown menu, choose Citation manager then Create File.
  3.  Chrome: a file called citations.nbib will automatically download; Firefox: Choose Save File.
  4. Open EndNote Basic and choose Collect/Import References.
  5. Browse to find your saved file, choose the PubMed (NLM) import filter and import.

Note: The "Find it” links will transfer as long as you searched PubMed through the UNR Libraries’ site. Non-English titles will retain their brackets.

Or: Search PubMed directly from EndNote Basic using the online search option and “PubMed (NLM)”  direct search filter – only simplistic searches allowed and “Find it” links will not appear if off-campus.

Science Direct / Elsevier

  1. Search for the desired item.
  2. Mark the records you want to export by clicking the box next to each item.
  3. At the top of the page, click the Export citations link.
  4. In the new screen, under Export Format, select RIS, then hit the Export button.
  5. A new window appears prompting you to find, save, or cancel. Save the file as a Text (.txt) file.
  6. Login to EndNote Basic.
  7. Under Collect, select Import References.
  8. Click Browse to locate the saved file.
  9. Under Filter, ProCite RIS, select the group where you would like the citation to be placed, then hit Import.

Thomson ISI/ Web of Science

  1. Select items.
  2. Choose my.endnote.com from the Send to dropdown menu at the top of the results list.
  3. Sign in to EndNote Basic.
  4. In the popup box, choose your desired record content (the most common choice is "Full Record") and click Send.

Note: Items will be automatically added to your “Unfiled” folder.

University of Nevada, Reno Library Search

For a single item:

- click on the 3-dot icon next to the item, then choose EndNote and sign into your EndNote account if prompted.

For multiple items at once:

- Check the box next to each item you wish to include.

- At the top of the results list, click the 3-dot icon next to "You have selected (however many) records", choose EndNote and sign into your EndNote account if prompted.

Notes: Citations will go to Unfiled. “Find It” links will be included.