University Libraries Alternative Operations Notice
The Knowledge Center, DeLaMare, and Savitt Libraries will be open from 8am to 5pm Monday through Friday beginning July 6. Limited services will be available and librarians are available to assist you online.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. These titles are presented in collaboration with more than 120 publishers and Michigan Publishing.
Note: Click on "unlocked" in the left-hand search bar to view content available to the University of Nevada, Reno library users.
Electronic editions of Oxford's scholarly reference titles, in a broad range of subjects from Islamic philosophy to popular music.
eHRAF World Cultures
Note: This database has been cancelled as of June 30, 2020. We apologize for the inconvenience.
A web-based collection of ethnographic and other texts indexed by culture and subject. Formerly known as eHRAF Collection of Ethnography. Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Inc. at Yale University.
Core academic journals in mathematics, humanities and social sciences disciplines, beginning with their first volumes (sometimes dating back to the 1800s). Issues from the most recent 3-5 years are not available electronically through JSTOR; however, they may be available through their publishers or other vendors. Note: Funded by the Beckwith Memorial Endowment.
Full text journals and books in the humanities and social sciences from several university presses and scholarly societies. 1993- present for some titles. Note: Funded by the Beckwith Memorial Endowment.
This multidisciplinary database indexes over 10,000+ scholarly journals, with full text for almost 9,000 titles. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer science and engineering, general science, medicine, ethnic studies, and more. 1965 - present for selected titles.
With an interdisciplinary focus, the database covers topics on the role of scientific discovery in society and culture, as well as the historiography of scientific disciplines from prehistory to the present. It includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials. 1975 - present.
Search or browse scholarly editions and translations of classic published and unpublished texts in the humanities, particularly Western philosophy and English letters. Includes the Oxford Classical Dictionary.
Includes content from Manchester Medieval Sources along with open access titles. Full-text documents and scholarly translations, with supplementary material and links to related resources. Organized around specific works or themes, such as Black Death, women, religion.
This database primarily focuses on English Enlightenment literature, 1701-1800. Includes digital images of titles from The English Short Title Catalogue, a machine-readable list of the holdings of the British Library, with additional documents from university, private and public libraries worldwide. Note: This database may also be searched as part of Gale’s cross-collection primary source portal, Gale Primary Sources.
A digital preservation repository that includes over ten million volumes from partner library collections, digitized as part of the Google Books project, the Internet Archive project, or by individual partner libraries. The HathiTrust collection is full-text searchable, and includes about two million volumes in the public domain that may be viewed online. Some titles are available to download as full-text PDFs.