Library Guides: Engineering: Civil & Environmental Engineering

Civil & Environmental Engineering Databases

Civil Engineering Database
Indexes publications of the American Society of Civil Engineers, including journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal records from 1958- present, with abstracts back to 1970. Book records, early 1900s - present.
TRID (Transport Research International Documentation)
A database provided by the Transportation Research Board - one of the seven program units of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. Includes abstracts and some full-text content of transportation research published worldwide.
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
Search the world's literature in earthquake engineering, for technical reports, conferences, books, and journal articles. Over 100,000 abstracts, 1971 - present.
Engineering Village
International index coverage of engineering and applied science literature in thousands of journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Includes Compendex, GeoRef, and Knovel. 1884 - present.
Web of Science
This collection contains over 18,000+ journals and includes: Science Citation Index, from 1965; Social Sciences Citation Index, from 1965; and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, from 1991. Search by subject, author, or cited reference. An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts
A comprehensive index to world literature on all technological and engineering aspects of air, water, and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability, and energy production. 1990 - present.
GeoRef
Comprehensive database from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Contains nearly 2 million records in geology. 1785 - present.

Environmental Sciences Databases

Environment Complete
Environment Complete offers coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, public policy, natural resources, geography, and more. Includes coverage from 1940s, as well as full text for hundreds of journals.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Formerly Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, this database provides interdisciplinary coverage of journal articles and documents in the environmental sciences from 1960- present. Includes AGRICOLA & TOXLINE. Many documents are available in full-text.

Data Sources: Civil Engineering

LTBP InfoBridge
FHWA's InfoBridge™ is a centralized gateway for efficient and quick access to performance-related data and information. The InfoBridge web portal provides site users with a one-stop shop for accessing data, analytics, and a library of other LTBP resources.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
The Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS), as part of the United States Department of Transportation, compiles, analyzes, and makes accessible information on the nation's transportation systems; collects information on intermodal transportation and other areas as needed.
USGS Earthquake Hazards Program: Data & Tools
Realtime monitoring, station, and other various seismic data available for download. Data products to view and download.
Strong Motion Earthquake Data Values of Digitized Strong-Motion Accelerograms, 1933-1994
The Strong Motion Earthquake Data Values of Digitized Strong-Motion Accelerograms is a database of over 15,000 digitized and processed accelerograph records from 1933 to 1994. Data were obtained from a variety of structural and geologic environments.
IRIS: Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology
Includes time series data, metadata, event data, assemble data, data products, and historical data related to seismographic events.
PEER Ground Motion Database: Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center
The web-based Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center (PEER) ground motion database provides tools for searching, selecting and downloading ground motion data. ALL downloaded records are unscaled and as-recorded (unrotated).

Data Sources: Environmental Engineering

AirNow
This web site is developed by the U.S. EPA, NOAA, NPS, tribal, state, and local agencies to provide the public with easy access to national air quality information. It offers daily Air Quality Index (AQI) forecasts as well as real-time AQI conditions for over 300 cities across the US, and provides links to more detailed State and local air quality Web sites.
Climate Change Data Portal: World Bank
Access climate and climate-related data. The site also includes a mapping visualization tool (webGIS) that displays key climate variables and climate-related data.