Library Guides: Chemistry: Helpful Websites and More

UNR Computer Labs and Software

The University of Nevada, Reno manages a variety of spaces to support the mission of the University by providing computer access to faculty and students. Each of the Libraries provide computers to access the online catalog, databases, eJournals, and online reference resources. Some computer labs on campus provide access to discipline specific software programs. Some of these software programs can be access through the virtual desktop.

Computer Labs

DataWorks Computer Labs
DataWorks provides access to advanced scientific visualization, data analysis, and modeling software. DataWorks North is located in the @One and Data Works South located in the basement of the DeLaMare Library.
University Libraries Computer Labs
Computer labs found within the University Libraries host a variety of specialized software programs. This website provides a list of all software programs hosted by each lab.
UNR Virtual Desktop
All members of the University can access to the software titles found in the Dataworks labs via three remote DataWorks environments: BlueWolf, SilverWolf, and SAS-Enabled. BlueWolf is a remote environment available to all active students, faculty and staff. It is designed to compliment academic and instructional activities and includes numerous software titles to assist with such subjects as programming, mathematics, chemistry, geography, and more. It also includes the Microsoft Office Suite (excluding Outlook) all on a campus connection.

Chemistry Software Programs

ChemCAD
ChemCAD is a suite of chemical process simulation software. ChemCAD is available on the University Libraries DataWorks North and South computers.
MATLAB
MATLAB (matrix laboratory) is a multi-paradigm numerical computing environment. A proprietary programming language developed by MathWorks, MATLAB allows matrix manipulations, plotting of functions and data, implementation of algorithms, creation of user interfaces, and interfacing with programs written in other languages, including C, C++, C#, Java, Fortran and Python.

Learning About Chemistry

PhET Interactive Simulations
Extensive collection of free interactive math and science simulations from the University of Colorado Boulder.
MERLOT Virtual Labs
Listing of mostly free educational modules and sites.
ACS Virtual Chemistry and Simulations
Chemistry simulations and online labs from the American Chemical Society.
ChemCollective
Online resources for teaching and learning Chemistry.
Molecular Workbench
Interactive simulations for teaching and learning science.
Digital Lab Techniques Manual
Videos of laboratory techniques from MIT.

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
The NIST is a National Laboratory that promotes U.S. innovations by advancing scientific measurements, standards and technology. This webpage has a variety of publications regarding the projects and programs.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
A database which provides convenient access to a variety of physical and chemical property data on well-defined chemical species and reactions.
NIST Material Measurement Laboratory
The national reference laboratory for measurements in the chemical, biological and material sciences.
NIST Fundamental Physical Constants
Listing of constants used in physical chemistry calculations.

Chemistry News Updates

AZoM Materials
The latest industry news, information and insights from the Materials Science industry.
Natural Product Updates
A literature updating service keeping you current with recent developments in natural products chemistry. Covering a wide range of primary sources, Natural Product Updates includes the most important natural product articles published in the recent scientific literature.
Synthetic Reaction Updates
An updating service keeping you up to date with recent developments in synthetic organic chemistry. Covering a wide range of primary sources, Synthetic Reaction Updates includes the most important reactions published in the recent scientific literature.