There are multiple ways to add citations to EndNote:
- Import references directly from database platforms that have direct export (for example EBSCO databases such as CINAHL, AgeLine, PsycINFO, etc., and Web of Science.
- Import references using an Import Filter (for example PubMed and Embase).
- Create a manual entry for a reference where no electronic record exists.
- Online search within EndNote (Not Recommended. See note below.)
Click on the links in the left column for instructions on the most frequently used databases in the health sciences. If you are using a database not listed and need assistance, please email us at savitt@med.unr.edu.
Create References Manually
Sometimes you will need to manually enter a reference into EndNote Online because there is no other way to get it there. This is especially true with items such as artwork, films, blogs, interviews. etc. that are not typically indexed in online databases or catalogs. The steps below detail how to manually enter a reference into EndNote Online.
- Go to your EndNote library. Click on the Collect tab in the top navigation bar, then select the New Reference link.
- Next select Reference Type from the drop-down menu.
- Fill out the form for the Reference Type you have selected, enter the reference information you have for the source into the appropriate fields and save.
Note: Online searching from within EndNote Online does not work due to authentication requirements in library databases. EndNote Online does not have the capacity to send your NetID and password to licensed database providers.
However, freely available databases such as PubMed, may be searched directly. The library's "Find It" button will not appear when searching directly and you will not have the many features of PubMed to refine your searches.
