General Library Research: Find Sources

Online version of the complete encyclopedia with more than 75,000 entries, links to related Internet sites, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

A collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

Sponsored by: Nevada Statewide Licensed Databases, through the IMLS
Provides a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database covers 250 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides on subjects like debate techniques and writing position papers.

This multidisciplinary database indexes over 6,000+ scholarly journals, with full text for almost 3,100 titles. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer science and engineering, general science, medicine, ethnic studies, and more. 1975 - present for selected titles.

Sponsored by: Nevada Statewide Licensed Databases, through the IMLS
Designed for public libraries, this database provides full text access to general interest magazines, biographies, primary source documents, and reference books.

Search key national and regional U.S. news sources such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, and Reno Gazette-Journal spanning from the 1980s to present. Includes newspapers, magazines, blogs, trade journals, images, and audio/video content.

Find information on a wide breadth of topics from a variety of news media including newspapers, newswires, periodicals, blogs, videos and web-only content including the Las Vegas Review Journal, Financial Times (London), San Francisco Chronicle, and USA Today.