Library Guides: Anthropology: Other Databases & Journals

Other Useful Databases for Research in Anthropology

If you're not finding what you need in the one of the databases listed on the Getting Started page, try using one of the databases below.

America: History & Life with Full Text
Full text and citation searching of journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews on all aspects of North American history, including the United States and Canada. Covers publications from 1954 to present.
Anthropological papers of the American Museum of Natural History
The Anthropological Papers include 20th century ethnographies, with a focus on North American Indians. Illustrious anthropologists as well as many past and present curators of the American Museum of Natural History's Division of Anthropology published their work in the Papers. 1907 - present
Art Full Text
Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more than 240 titles.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles, editorials, reviews, etc. from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Search in English or Spanish. 1990 - present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Full text and citation searching of journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Covers publications from 1954 to present. Covers publications from 1954 to present.
L'Annee Philologique
Indexes articles in journals, collections, and conference papers on classics and classical studies, including Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Includes searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full-text coverage for older graduate works.
Web of Science
This collection contains over 18,000+ journals and includes: Science Citation Index, from 1965; Social Sciences Citation Index, from 1965; and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, from 1991. Search by subject, author, or cited reference. An excellent current awareness and bibliography-building tool.

WorldCat
A catalog of library materials in all formats from libraries all over the United States and the world. Contains more than 61 million items.

Anthropology Subcategories & Research

Which databases cover which subcategories of Anthropology? See the lists below.

All Areas: Annual Review of Anthropology, Anthropology Plus, AnthroSource, JSTOR, Dissertations & Theses, Web of Science, WorldCat, Academic Search Premier

Physical Anthropology: Web of Science, Zoological Record

Cultural Anthropology: eHRAF, Anthropological Papers of the American Museum of Natural History, Oxford Islamic Studies Online, Historical Abstracts, America: History & Life, Ethnic NewsWatch, Communication & Mass Media Complete

Linguistic Anthropology: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Archaeology: Art Full Text, L'Annee Philologique

Anthropology E-Journals

Click on a link below to see lists of electronic journals in certain categories.

Anthropology: Other Databases & Journals

Other Useful Databases for Research in Anthropology

Anthropology Subcategories & Research

Anthropology E-Journals

Basic Journal Search Widget

Search for Periodical Titles