skip to main content

Remote Access to UNR Licensed Resources

Because of restrictions in UNR license agreements with publishers and vendors, we are allowed to extend remote access privileges to only currently enrolled students, staff, and faculty. Others may come to UNR and gain access to most of our online materials through the Guest Wireless network,

Adjunct faculty who are doing work for UNR requiring computing and library resources (such as research for the University, teaching classes through an agreement, or actively advising students) can apply to get a NetID and Library access. The UNR department chair or Director affiliated will need to fill it out and explain why the work for UNR requires remote access to library resources. It also requires also the volunteer agreement form, which is linked below.

Application for Access to Computing Resources

Volunteer Application

Guest Wireless

Guest Wireless

You can access the UNR wireless network through a free guest account that allows you to connect your personal computer or other mobile device to the guest network. Wireless guest accounts expire at the end of the day. 

Guest Wireless gives Internet privileges and provides access to most UNR–licensed online journals, books and databases.

Instructions:

  1. Connect your mobile device to UNR-Guest
  2. Open a browser
  3. Click on “Create Wireless Account”
  4. Follow the instructions
    (NOTE: We recommend text delivery because we’ve seen some users' email system spam filtering processes hold the account message for up to ½-hour. Text and data charges may apply.)

For details on the wireless policies at UNR, see the UNR IT information page on guest access.

Guests using UNR wireless service MUST be 18 years or older. 

Free Online Databases to Nevada Library Card Holders

The UNR Libraries' Databases A-Z List includes some free and open access databases.

Free and open access databases are flagged with this icon: open lock icon

Additionally, many high quality online databases are freely available to people who have a library card from a Nevada public library.  These databases can be accessed by anyone anywhere using a PC connected to the Internet. Use the link below to connect to your public library, then enter your library card information to use these resources.

List of Databases (Nevada State Library)

Nevada Public Library Directory 

Didn't find what you were looking for?