Nevada Specialty Databases: Home
Welcome to the Nevada Specialty Databases guide. This page is dedicated to the Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) collection , MineWaste Database, Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) Report, and the Yucca Mountain Technical Report Collection. These are University of Nevada, Reno local searchable database collections.
EPRI Report Search
The Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) was established in 1973 as an independent, non-profit center for electricity and environmental research. EPRI distributes the results of research projects by member companies and institutions in the form of reports.
The DeLaMare Library at the University of Nevada, Reno has hundreds of EPRI reports, most of which were published during the years 1990 – 1995. They are located in the MARS stacks of the Knowledge Center and can be assed via the online library catalog. The use of EPRI reports is restricted to the UNR’s faculty, staff and students. We cannot lend them to other individuals or institutions.
Environment & Geography
Yucca Mountain Research Collection
Information and resource for the Nuclear Regulatory Commission Yucca Mountain Research Collection.
- Collection History
- Yucca Mountain Project Timeline
- Manuscript Collection
- Monograph Collection
- Other Resources at UNR
- Links to Outside Resources
- Searching NRC Microfiche Collections & the NRC ADAMS Database
- 1861-1938: Early Building Blocks Toward Yucca Mountain
- 1939-1952: Nuclear Proliferation Begins in the United States
- 1953-1969: Shifting Nuclear Priorities
- 1970-1981: Precursors to the Nuclear Waste Policy Act
- 1982-1987: The U.S. Settles on Yucca Mountain
- 1988-1999: The Yucca Mountain Project Pushes Forward
- 2000-2016: The Yucca Mountain Project Grinds to a Halt
- 2017-2018: New Life for Yucca Mountain?
Environmental Impact Statements (EIS)
A selected collection of Environmental Impact Statements (EISs) are available in print or microfiche format in the University Libraries, and some are available in electronic format on the web provided by EPA and DOE.
The National Environmental Policy Act of 1969 (NEPA) requires every agency responsible for a project that uses Federal funds to create an assessment of the project's potential impact on the environment. The agency that produces the environmental impact statement (EIS) is also required to hold public hearings and submit a draft of the EIS for public review and cannot proceed with the project until a final version of the EIS is submitted to the EPA. However, a final does not supersede a draft because the final version will often cite information in the draft without actually including it. Comparison of final versions to drafts may be required for litigation. For more information, see the Ohio State University Factsheet about Environmental Impact Statements.
Environmental Impact Statements in the UNR Libraries
Most of the recent EISs in the libraries are listed in the library online catalog. The catalog record provides a call number and location in one of the libraries:
- Business & Government Section (KC 5rd floor)
- DeLaMare Library (Book Stacks (EIS Reports) in the Basement)
Those designated as "Microform" will be in microfiche cabinets or in MARS.
Mining-related Environmental Impact Statements in the DeLaMare Library
Search our collection of over 180 environmental impact statements from corporate and federal agency’s reports for mining projects from all over the world. Pierre Mousset-Jones, UNR Mining Emeritus Faculty, has donated most of these reports to the Library
Environmental Impact Statements Online
Environmental Impact Statements (Energy.gov)
Department of Energy (DOE) Energy.gov EIS Reports. The DOE provides a list of EIS’s from 1977 – present. The DOE does limit electronic access to certain NEPA documents on this website due to the potential security sensitivity of some information in these documents.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Database provides citations and some downloadable full text of EIS’s prepared by federal agencies since 2004, as well as EPA’s comments concerning the EIS’s. The EPA also
EPA EIS Mapper is an interactive map tool to help find EIS reports in each state. (website currently down)
For help in identifying or locating a specific EIS or finding older, un-cataloged EISs in the libraries, stop by the Reference Desk in Knowledge Center or the Service Desks in DeLaMare Library.