Although it is easiest (and usually most accurate) to import citations from databases, you can always input citations manually by typing in the information for each field. Use the COLLECT/NEW REFERENCE tab, then choose the appropriate reference type.
This method is necessary when entering personal communications or other resources not found within the databases.
Bulk uploads from the following databases do not work with Endnote Online:
Items from these databases may be added with the CAPTURE REFERENCE toolbar button or manually using the Collect/New Reference tab.
Filters are translators that allow EndNote to either correctly interpret citations coming from databases (import filters) or correctly format your bibliography in the chosen style (output filters). You select your "favorite" filters from the lists on the COLLECT and FORMAT tabs.
There is not an available import filter for every database. Also, as database software is upgraded, some filters cease to work and/or are removed. If you go out on the web you can find filters that other institutions have created. These usually only work with the desktop EndNote product, which allows custom filter development.
There are not export filters for every journal. Users who are preparing manuscripts for journals not covered should check the instructions for Authors of their desired journal. In some cases, the required style will be the same as other journals from that publisher or within the discipline.
Outputted bibliographies should be checked for accuracy – some strange extra punctuation can occur, plus some databases fail to map fields correctly for odd formats of items (i.e. patents, photographs, etc.).
When outputting a bibliography, choose the file format “HTML”, then choose “Preview and Print”. This will create a nicely formatted bib that can be copied and pasted directly into your document.
Direct searching from within EndNote Basic does not work due to the proxy requirements. EndNote Basic does not have the capacity to send your NetID to licensed database providers.
An exception: Freely available databases, such as PubMed, may be searched directly. The "Find It" button will not appear when searching directly.
In Endnote Basic:
NOTE: The “Find It” button will transfer, but will not work, but a URL for the image will be part of the record.
Note: Works well with journal citations, problematic with non-article citations. “Find it” links transfer and work for journal articles.
Note: You may need to “allow Pop-ups” and try saving again.
Alternate instructions for some browsers/computers:
Stage One: saving your references in IEEE Xplore
Stage Two: importing the references into EndNote Basic
Items from Google Scholar must be transferred one citation at a time. Google Scholar citations are often messy, requiring manual clean-up and addition of missing fields.
First: configure Google Scholar to send references to EndNote Basic:
Second: import search results into EndNote Basic:
Note: The “Find It” button will transfer.
Note: The “Find it” button transfers and works for some, but not all databases.
Note: In Firefox on PC you may be only able to export one item at a time. Other browsers (and sometimes Firefox) work for multiple items. In some other cases, you may be able to move the items on a list directly to EndNote Basic (follow prompts). For most cases:
Note: If the item has full text link, the link is transferred but will not work off-campus (bypasses proxy).
Note: The "Find it” links will transfer as long as you searched PubMed through the UNR Libraries’ site. Non-English titles will retain their brackets.
Or: Search PubMed directly from EndNote Basic using the online search option and “PubMed (NLM)” direct search filter – only simplistic searches allowed and “Find it” links will not appear if off-campus.
Note: Items will be automatically added to your “Unfiled” folder.
For a single item:
- click on the 3-dot icon next to the item, then choose EndNote and sign into your EndNote account if prompted.
For multiple items at once:
- Check the box next to each item you wish to include.
- At the top of the results list, click the 3-dot icon next to "You have selected (however many) records", choose EndNote and sign into your EndNote account if prompted.
Notes: Citations will go to Unfiled. “Find It” links will be included.