EndNote is an online reference management tool that you can use to collect and organize references you find in library databases. EndNote also helps you create in-text citations and reference lists with the free Cite While You Write plug-in you can easily install in Microsoft Word.
EndNote Basic
The free version of EndNote Basic has 21 bibliographic styles and a limited number of filters (used by specific databases to export data into your EndNote library). This version is available to anybody, with no other purchase required. EndNote Basic users can create an online library of up to 50,000 references and up to 2GB of attachments.
EndNote Online through Web of Science database
This guide is about the expanded version of EndNote Online, also free, that is available through UNR's subscription to the Web of Science database. This version adds thousands of styles and hundreds of filters.
EndNote Desktop Software
The desktop version of EndNote has more features and storage capacity and is available to purchase from EndNote.com. UNR does not have a site license for EndNote desktop. You can download a free 30-day trial of EndNote desktop at https://endnote.com/downloads/30-day-trial before you decide to purchase.
Create your EndNote Account
Although the free version of EndNote is available to anyone, in order to access the expanded version, you must create your EndNote account through the Web of Science database.
Start at the Library's website at library.unr.edu/savitt. Click on Medical Databases, then scroll down to the Web of Science database link. If you are off campus, you will be asked to enter your NetID and password.
In Web of Science, click on the Products menu in the upper right corner. In the drop-down menu under Reference Manager select EndNote.
If you are new to EndNote, click on the Register button to create your account. You can use any email to register for EndNote. After you have registered you will receive an email with a link to authenticate your email address.
After you create your account, you can access your EndNote library of references via the Web of Science database or use the direct link myendnoteweb.com.
